INDIANAPOLIS - Six Indiana teachers have been recognized as state finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The awards are the nation's highest honors for K-12 teachers of science, technology, engineering or math and computer science. Recipients serve as mentors and leaders in their fields and also receive a certificate, a trip to Washington D.C. to attend recognition events and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

The Indiana winners are:

Kelly Day, Westfield Middle School
Angela Snyder, Creekside Middle School
Richard Ziuchovski, Anderson High School
David Butler, Southern Wells Junior-Senior High School
Sarah A. Chattin, Hamilton Southeastern High School
Kirstin Milks, Bloomington High School South

The teachers were involved in an application process and were selected by a state committee and will all participate in a recognition luncheon this fall. More information about the Presidential Awards can be found here