Takuma Sato has been awarded $2.46 million for taking the checkered flag Sunday in the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500. Sato, the first-ever Japanese winner of the race, held off three-time winner Helio Castroneves in the final laps to close out the victory in the sixth-closest finish in Indy 500 history. The total purse was nearly $13.2 million.

Castroneves was passed by Sato on Lap 195 after briefly taking the lead. The Brazilian lead the race for a total of 17 laps and earned more than $770,000.

Rookie Ed Jones took third and $536,000, Max Chilton’s fourth-place finish earned him $484,000 and 2013 winner Tony Kanaan received $438,000 for coming in fifth. Pole-sitter Scott Dixon Pole sitter Scott Dixon’s take is nearly $447,000. He finished 32nd after surviving a crash with Jay Howard that sent him and his car airborne and into the SAFER Barrier on Lap 53. Dixon walked away without serious injuries. Rookie of the Year honors went to two-time Formula One World Champion Fernando Alonso, who skipped the F1 Monaco Grand Prix to earn a total of $306,000 in Indy. Alonso led 27 laps, but finished 24th after a mechanical issue took him out of the race on Lap 180.

You can connect to more about the final numbers of the 2017 race by clicking here. The 102nd Indianapolis 500 will take place on May 27, 2018.