A Dearborn County commissioner has been selected to lead an influential Tri-State organization. Kevin Lynch is the new president of OKI, a local Metropolitan Planning Organization based in Cincinnati that serves eight Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana counties. January 8, 2015

News Release

CINCINNATI, Ohio – Dearborn County has been a member of OKI for many years, but now the smallest county in the organization is leading the way for our region.

Elected President of OKI at the January 8th meeting, Dearborn County Commissioner Kevin Lynch assumes the helm of this nationally recognized organization. After serving on the Executive Board and being Elected Second Vice President in 2012, Lynch is the first President from Indiana in the 51 year history of this organization.

Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana (OKI) is the local Metropolitan Planning Organization for our region. This Federally mandated organization represents approximately 2 million people in 196 jurisdictions, across 8 counties in 3 states in and around the Greater Cincinnati area. OKI funnels about $40 million in transportation funds to construction and planning projects annually throughout the region.

Lynch states that “OKI has been successful because of the unique ability of this board to think regionally, while we advocate for our jurisdictions. I doubt such consensus leadership is present anywhere else in this region.”

This council of local governments, business organizations and community groups is committed to developing collaborative strategies, plans and programs to improve the quality of life and economic development potential of the Tri-State.

The election of Commissioner Lynch as President of OKI reinforces the leadership shown and the growing commitment made by Dearborn County to our metropolitan community over the past two years.

As President, Commissioner Lynch will lead a group of quality regional leaders on the OKI Executive Board. The 2015 elected officers for the OKI Board of Directors include:

-President: Dearborn County Commissioner Kevin J. Lynch

-First Vice President: Butler County Commissioner T.C. Rogers

-Second Vice President: Kenton County Fiscal Court Judge Executive Kris Knockelman

-Treasurer: Resident At-large Member Kenneth Reed

-Past President: Hamilton County Commissioner Todd Portune

Additional information regarding this organization can be found on the website: Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana.org

Source: The Office of The Dearborn County Board of Commissioners

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}