Indianapolis-based education nonprofit The Mind Trust has announced local school leaders who will be part of its third cohort to attend Relay Graduate School of Education’s school leadership programs. The 32 fellows come from 18 public schools across the city, representing charter schools, Indianapolis Public Schools and IPS Innovation Network Schools.

The Mind Trust is funding 27 school leaders to attend Relay’s National Principals Academy Fellowship, two school leaders for Relay’s National Principal Supervisors Academy and three school leaders for Relay’s Instructional Leaders Professional Development. The company says the support is also made possible by support from the Richard M. Fairbanks Foundation.

“Relay’s National Principals Academy Fellowship provides rigorous training that school leaders can take and implement in their schools right away,” said Joe White, The Mind Trust’s vice president of school support, in a news release. “Leaders from the first two cohorts have already seen the positive outcomes from using Relay practices in their schools and we’re excited to see the growing momentum and impact from Relay trained leaders.”

The fellows are:

  • Chrystal Westerhaus, Principal, Avondale Meadows Middle School
  •  Megan Murphy, Founder and Head of School, Circle City Prep
  • Stephanie Campos Johnson, Assistant Principal – Grades 1-2, Global Preparatory Academy at Riverside 44
  • Stephanie Holmberg, Lead Teacher, Global Preparatory Academy at Riverside 44
  •  John Edge, Principal, Arlington Middle School Cliff Bailey, Lead Special Education Specialist, Arlington Middle School
  •  Corye Franklin, Principal, Arsenal Technical High School Alexis Johnson, Culture Climate Specialist, Arsenal Technical High School
  • Crishell Sam, Assistant Principal, Arsenal Technical High School Joshua Halliwell, Assistant Principal, Charles W. Fairbanks School 105
  • Valerie Clark, Principal, Ernie Pyle School 90
  •  Elizabeth McClain, Lead Teacher, Kindezi Academy
  •  Renee Wilson, Instructional Coach, Kindezi Academy
  • ShaDe’ Watson, Assistant School Leader, KIPP Indy Schools 
  • Karen Wright, Assistant Principal, Matchbook Learning at Wendell Phillips School 63
  • Eric McGuire, Assistant Principal, Matchbook Learning at Wendell Phillips School 63
  •  Alicia Hervey, Principal, The PATH School
  • Tia Taylor, Assistant Principal, The PATH School
  • Jennica Adkins, Director, Culture & Instruction, pilotED: Bethel Park
  • John McClure, CEO, SUPER School 19
  • Deborah Garcia, Head of School, SUPER School 19
  • Kristina Cowan, Literacy Coach, Charles A. Tindley Accelerated Schools
  • Angel Jackson, Assistant Principal, Tindley Renaissance Academy
  •  Nigena Livingston, Head of School, URBAN ACT Academy at Washington Irving 14
  •  Brenice Armstrong, Assistant Head of School, URBAN ACT Academy at Washington Irving 14
  • Mark Humphrey, Multi-Classroom Leader, URBAN ACT Academy at Washington Irving 14
  •  Jessica Parson, Elementary Principal, Vision Academy

The National Principal Supervisors Academy fellows are:

  • Kelly Herron, Executive Director, United Schools of Indianapolis
  • Jessica Kohlmeyer, Director of Academic Affairs, United Schools of Indianapolis 

The Instructional Leaders Professional Development participants are:

  • Amy Berns, Assistant Principal, Edison School of the Arts
  • Jessica English, Assistant Head of School and Academics, Ignite Achievement Academy at Elder Diggs 42
  •  Ashley Cowger, Executive Director of Professional Learning, IPS