Nominees for the 2014 Mira Awards have been selected. TechPoint, the state's technology initiative is slated to announce the winners of the honors at a 15th annual awards gala in May. March 10, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – TechPoint, Indiana's technology growth initiative, today announced the nominees for the 15th annual Mira Awards presented by BKD CPAs & Advisors.

Mira — Latin for miracle and a variable star thousands of times brighter than the sun — represents the best of tech in Indiana each year. TechPoint received a record-breaking 170 applications, which is a 40 percent increase in applications over just last year, and nearly half of the applications this year came from first-time companies, schools, organizations and individuals who had never before entered the Mira Awards. Mike Langellier, president and CEO of TechPoint, said that the dramatic increase is another positive indicator of the strength and momentum of Indiana’s tech sector.

“The Mira Awards are the biggest stage for tech in Indiana and a harbinger of future growth as much as they are a celebration of recent achievements,” Langellier said. “Every year the community comes together through TechPoint’s awards program to recognize excellence, innovation and success, and it’s worth noting that almost all of the major tech companies in Central Indiana that were acquired or went public since 2007, are also past Mira Award nominees and winners. That's the particular brand of strength and momentum that the Mira Awards represent.”

Twelve homegrown Indiana tech companies have been acquired or gone public since 2007, creating $4.5 billion in market value and more than 3,700 Indiana jobs.

More than 40 independent subject matter experts, who serve as judges, evaluated and scored the 170 applications, which determined the official 2014 class of Mira Awards nominees. Nominees will deliver presentations and answer questions in-person with one of the independent judging panels later this month, and then the judges select the winners following their deliberations.

The official 2014 TechPoint Mira Awards nominees are:


Tech Innovation of the Year

Accutech Systems

AlGalCo, LLC

Animated Dynamics, Inc.


ECO Lighting Solutions / Horner Lighting Group

Emerging Threats

F Cubed, LLC


MedeoLinx, LLC


Revive Electronics, LLC

SnapFix by Angie's List

Social Net Watcher

SteadyServ Technologies

Tech Services Award

Allied Payment Network

Barnes & Thornburg LLP


Diverse Tech Services

One.IU development team

Polleo Systems, Inc.

Rector Communications

RICS Software LLC


Sustainability Dashboard Tools, Inc.

T2 Systems, Inc.

The Schneider Corporation


Tech Sales and Marketing Award

Bluebridge Digital

Interactive Intelligence Group Inc.

LeadJen LLC

Site Strategics

Teradata Corporation


Tech Startup of the Year

Allied Payment Network


Bluebridge Digital





PrecisionHawk LLC


SteadyServ Technologies



Emerging Tech Company of the Year

Accutech Systems

Axia Technology Partners

Blue Pillar, Inc.


Fathom Voice



Olympia Media Group

PolicyStat, LLC

Rook Security


Scale Computing



Tech Company of the Year


BidPal, Inc.

Cigital, Inc.

Electronic Commerce, Inc.

ExactTarget, a company

Interactive Intelligence Group Inc.

Orbis Education

Smithville Communications Inc.


Marketing Tech Award

Conversion In A Box by Sonar Studios

ExactTarget, a Company

Firebelly Marketing


Husk, LLC




Mobile Tech Award

Allied Payment Network

Archon Apps

BidPal, Inc.


eGov Strategies

FatStax from Red Funnel Consulting




Sonar Studios

SteadyServ Technologies


Health Tech Award

Aspire Indiana, Inc.

CarexTech, Inc.

From The Case Files

Indianapolis Emergency Medical Services

Nutrabiotix, Inc.

PolicyStat, LLC

Social Health Insights

Education Tech Award

Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School

Evanced Games

From The Case Files

Herff Jones

Luminary Digital Media

Purdue Center for Medication Safety Advancement

Social Net Watcher

Standard For Success


Tech Educator of the Year

James Aldridge, chief technology officer, MSD of Warren Township

Jake Chen, associate professor, bioinformatics and computer science, Indiana University –

Purdue University Indianapolis

Jonathan Blake Huer, director of emerging technologies, Ball State University

Pete Just, chief technology officer, MSD of Wayne Township

Karthik Ramani, professor of mechanical engineering, Purdue University

Philip Repp, vice president of information technology, Ball State University

TechPoint Rising Star

Teresa Becker, director of marketing,

Evan Burns, CEO, Olympia Media Group

Matt Goebel, partner and executive vice president, Polleo Systems

Myles Grote, chief revenue officer, bookacoach

Matt Hunckler, founder and CEO, VERGE

Denver Hutt, executive director, The Speak Easy

Jesse Kurth, director of client success, TinderBox

Patrick Lohman, chief operating officer, PrecisionHawk

Kurtis Moss, executive director, Launch Fishers

Chris Palmer, founder and CEO, BoxFox

Gregory Papesh, music teacher, Saints Francis and Clare

Ilya Rekhter, CEO, DoubleMap

Peter SerVaas, president, DoubleMap

Oren Shatken, product manager, Angie's List

Lauren Weatherall, senior marketing manager, TinderBox

Chris Wilkey, co-founder and CEO, Hosskey Consulting LLC

Max Yoder, co-founder,

In addition to the competitive Mira Awards categories, two special industry recognitions — TechPoint Foundation for Youth BridgeBuilder Award and TechPoint Trailblazer in Technology Award — are selected by the TechPoint Foundation for Youth and TechPoint boards of directors respectively. Last year, former Indianapolis Colts Pro-Bowl offensive tackle Tarik Glenn and his wife Maya received the Bridge Builder award, and the Trailblazer in Technology Award was presented to Dr. Donald Brown, chairman, president and CEO, Interactive Intelligence.

Winners will be announced at a “Gatsby-themed,” black-tie awards ceremony and gala featuring an interactive dinner, live music and an after party on Saturday, May 3, at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis. TechPoint is describing the event as a mash-up of “Roaring Twenties” energy meets the state’s vibrant 21st Century startup and tech ecosystem.

TechPoint added an after party with a live band to the event last year along with other fun, energized touches and enhanced production values that helped draw the largest crowd ever — 1,000 attendees — and by all accounts the most fun Mira Awards in recent memory.

Early-bird and “Under 30” tickets are on sale now at Sponsorship opportunities, such as platinum, gold or silver level packages that include group tickets, are also available. Creative sponsorships including ice sculptures, live entertainment, specialty drinks, candy and cupcake buffets and more are possible by contacting Annie Grinstead at or call 317-490-4727.

About TechPoint

TechPoint is Indiana’s technology initiative focused on being a powerful voice for Indiana’s tech sector through marketing and thought leadership, and being a catalyst for strategic growth initiatives

Source: TechPoint