The Indiana State AFL-CIO has elected its officers for 2018. Brett Voorhies, representing United Steelworkers Local 1999 in Indianapolis, will once again serve as president.

He was first elected president in 2013 after serving as president of what was then known as the Central Indiana Labor Council for two years. The AFL-CIO says, during his tenure, union membership has grown despite the passage of Indiana’s Right-to-Work law.

Shawn Crist was also re-elected to serve a second term as secretary-treasurer. 

Story Continues Below