Ivy Tech Community College President Tom Snyder is set to retire next year. He has led Ivy Tech since 2007, and last week, President Barack Obama named Snyder to the College Promise Advisory Board. The organization is tasked with developing free community college models and recruiting other institutions to join the effort.

The independent College Promise Advisory Board will be chaired by Dr. Jill Biden, Vice-Chaired by former Wyoming Governor Jim Geringer and directed by former Under Secretary of Education, Martha Kanter. 

College Promise Advisory Board Members:

   Ellen Alberding, President & Board Member, The Joyce Foundation

   Matthew C. Boulay, Program Officer for Veterans Program, Kisco Foundation

   Randy Boyd, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development

   J. Noah Brown, President & CEO, Association of Community College Trustees

   Walter G. Bumphus, President & CEO, American Association of Community Colleges

   Christopher Cabaldon, Mayor, West Sacramento

   Phil Clegg, Executive Director, American Student Association of Community Colleges

   Alexandra Flores-Quilty, President, United States Student Association

   Brian A. Gallagher, President & CEO, United Way Worldwide

   Lily Eskelsen García, President, National Education Association

   Richard D. George, President & CEO, Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation

   Mark Haas, Oregon State Senator, District 14

   Anne Johnson, Executive Director, Generation Progress

   Martha Kanter, College Promise Campaign

   Chauncy Lennon, Managing Director of Global Philanthropy, JPMorgan Chase

   Harold O. Levy, Executive Director, Jack Kent Cooke Foundation

   Stanley S. Litow, Vice President of Corporate Citizenship & Corporate Affairs and President, IBM Foundation

   Andrew N. Liveris, CEO, The Dow Chemical Company

   Joe May, Chancellor, Dallas County Community College District

   Gail O. Mellow, President, LaGuardia Community College

   Jen Mishory, Executive Director, Young Invincibles

   William F. L. Moses, Managing Director of Education, Kresge Foundation

   Eduardo J. Padron, President, Miami Dade Community College

   Wade Randlett, CEO, Transportation Fuels Division of General Biofuels

   Lauren A. Segal, President & CEO, Scholarship America

   Randy Smith, President, Rural Community College Alliance

   Thomas J. Snyder, President, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana

   LaVerne Evans Srinivasan, Vice President, Education Programs, Carnegie Corporation of New York

   Karen A. Stout, President & CEO, Achieving the Dream

   Scott J. Svonkin, President of the Board of Trustees, Los Angeles Community College District

   William H. Swanson, Chairman & CEO (retired), Raytheon Company

   Randi Weingarten, President, American Federation of Teachers

Story Continues Below