Governor Mike Pence says federal grant commitments relating to January's winter storm in Indiana have topped $1 million. Pence says the money will help replenish funds for state and local governments and other agencies that provided public services during the snowstorm.

September 17, 2014

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — Governor Mike Pence announced today that more than a million dollars in federal grants has been obligated so far to help local and state government and other organizations that provide public services to recover from the January 5-9 winter storm.

“Dollars are beginning to flow to replenish local and state government,” said Governor Pence. “While it will take months for the federal accounting process to be complete and provide funds to the 30 counties that qualified for assistance, this year that started with a rough winter is looking a bit brighter today.”

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security and the Federal Emergency Management Agency have been working with applicants in eligible counties to document and distribute the funds. To date, $1,130,340 has been processed for reimbursement to applicants in the eligible counties. More money will be distributed as applications are processed.

In all, 30 counties were granted federal public assistance and/or snow assistance.

Public Assistance will pay 75 percent of eligible expenses for damage to roads, bridges, utilities, debris removal, buildings’ contents and equipment, water control facilities, parks and recreational facilities, and others, as well as emergency protective measures like traffic control and rescue operations. Snow Assistance will cover all eligible costs associated with snow removal for the 48-hour or 72-hour period with the highest costs.

Counties granted public assistance include: Allen, Blackford, Boone, Clay, Clinton, Fulton, Hamilton, Hendricks, Huntington, Jasper, Johnson, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, Marion, Madison, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble**, Owen*, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh*, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley**.

All counties in the previous list except Owen and Vanderburgh (designated by an asterisk) are receiving at least 48 hours of snow assistance. Noble and Whitley counties (designated by two asterisks) are being provided with 72 hours of snow assistance, because they exceeded 150 percent of their record snowfall. Snow Assistance grants cover all eligible costs associated with snow removal for the 48-hour or 72-hour period with the highest costs.

Source: Office of Indiana Governor Mike Pence

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}