Eight school corporations have received Math Science Partnership grants from an Indiana Department of Education program. The funds range from $250,000 to $650,000 and support professional development initiatives for teachers. March 23, 2015

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Indiana Department of Education announced the recipients of the 2015 Math Science Partnership grants today. Math Science Partnership grants provide funds for sustained, intensive, and classroom focused professional development for educators aligned with state and local standards and mathematics and science curricula.

“Professional development opportunities are essential to providing high quality instruction to Hoosier students,” said Glenda Ritz, Indiana's Superintendent of Public Instruction. “That is why I am excited to announce the 2015 Math Science Partnership grants, which provide funding to eligible schools and corporations for the purpose of ensuring high quality professional development in the areas of science and mathematics instruction.”

The Math Science Partnership Program encourages collaboration between institutions of higher education, local school corporations, and elementary and secondary schools to develop learning activities and increase the subject matter knowledge of mathematics and science educators in Hoosier classrooms. These grants are federally funded.

Awardees are granted one year of funds with the opportunity to receive up to three years of total funding for their project. The full list of 2015 Math Science Partnership awardees and their partnering organizations are listed below:

School / Corporation Partnering Organization(s) Amount

Vigo County School Corporation Indiana State University, Rose Hulman $550,000

Evansville-Vanderburgh School Corporation Purdue University, Butler University, University of Southern Indiana $638,000

Evansville-Vanderburgh School Corporation, Community Schools of Frankfort, South Vermillion Community School Corporation, MSD of Wayne Township University of Southern Indiana $641,000

Warsaw Community Schools Ball State University $650,000

Griffith Public Schools, School City of Hammond, HAST, Merrillville Community School Corporation Purdue University-Calumet $250,000

Avon Community Schools Purdue University $250,000

MSD of Washington Township Ball State University $250,000

Carroll Jr-Sr high School, Benton High School, Central Catholic High School Purdue University $250,000

Source: The Indiana Department of Education

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}