The Indiana Chamber of Commerce has named Indiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Loretta Rush its 2018 Government Leader of the Year. The chamber says Rush "brings a passionate commitment, and strong organizational skills and communication abilities to all aspects of her position."

Rush was appointed to the Supreme Court in 2012 and named chief justice in 2014. She will receive the honor during the chamber’s Annual Awards Dinner in downtown Indianapolis in November.

"Chief Justice Rush has greatly expanded the use of technology to allow the court system statewide to operate more efficiently," said Kevin Brinegar, chief executive officer of the Indiana Chamber. "From administrative restructuring and establishment of Indiana’s commercial courts to her focus on trying to protect young people from becoming innocent victims of the actions of others, she is a true leader for Indiana and beyond."

Earlier this month, the chamber announced the city of Jasper as the 2018 Community of the Year and Jim Hallett, CEO of Carmel-based KAR Auction Services Inc. (NYSE: KAR), as the 2018 Dynamic Leader of the Year. The chamber will next week announce the winner of the 2018 Business Leader of the Year Award.

The November 13 awards ceremony will be headlined by New York Times best-selling author and CNN contributor J.D. Vance.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}