The Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians has elected Matthew Wesaw (pictured) as its Tribal Council chairman. Other officers elected include: Kelly Curran, secretary; Colin Wesaw, elders representative and Gary Morseau, Sr., member-at-large.

As Chairman, Wesaw will also serve as chairman and CEO of the Pokagon Gaming Authority Board, which oversees the Band’s casino properties including Four Winds New Buffalo, Four Winds Hartford, Four Winds Dowagiac and Four Winds South Bend. This marks his third election as chairman, the first time 2008 and again in 2012. In October 2013, he announced his retirement from the Council to become executive director of the Michigan Department of Civil Rights. At that time, current Chairman John Warren was chosen in a special election to serve out the remainder of the term and was re-elected in 2015.

Other members of the 11-member Tribal Council who were not up for re-election are Vice-Chairman Bob Moody, and Members-at-Large Steve Winchester, Becky Price, Andy Jackson and Alex Wesaw.

Story Continues Below