Indiana House Minority Leader Phil GiaQuinta (D-80) has announced the leadership team and ranking committee members for the House Democratic Caucus. The leadership team will assist in various aspects of the legislative process, both within the caucus and on the House floor.

The announcement follows House Speaker Brian Bosma’s (R-88) leadership and committee member appointments last week for the Republican side. Bosma and GiaQuinta themselves were appointed the leaders of their respective caucuses last month.

The democratic appointments include:

Leadership Team

• Democratic Leader: State Rep. Phil GiaQuinta (D-Fort Wayne)

• Assistant Democratic Leader: State Rep. Karlee Macer (D-Indianapolis)

• Democratic Floor Leader: State Rep. Cherrish Pryor (D-Indianapolis)

• Assistant Democratic Floor Leader: State Rep. Terri J. Austin (D-Anderson)

• Democratic Caucus Chair: State Rep. Mara Candelaria Reardon (D-Munster)

• Assistant Democratic Caucus Chair: State Rep. Dan Forestal (D-Indianapolis)

• Democratic Whip: State Rep. Justin Moed (D-Indianapolis)

• Assistant Democratic Whip: State Rep. Carey Hamilton (D-Indianapolis)

• Assistant Democratic Whip: State Rep. Earl Harris, Jr. (D-East Chicago)

Ranking Committee Members

• Agriculture and Rural Development: State Rep. Melanie Wright (D-Yorktown)

• Commerce, Small Business, and Economic Development: State Rep. Rita Fleming (D-Jeffersonville)

• Courts and Criminal Code: State Rep. Ragen H. Hatcher (D-Gary)

• Education: State Rep. Vernon G. Smith (D-Gary)

• Elections and Apportionment: State Rep. Chuck Moseley (D-Portage)

• Employment, Labor, and Pensions: State Rep. Lisa Beck (D-Hebron)

• Environmental Affairs: State Rep. Sue Errington (D-Muncie)

• Family, Children, and Human Affairs: State Rep. Vanessa Summers (D-Indianapolis)

• Financial Institutions: State Rep. Carey Hamilton (D-Indianapolis)

• Government and Regulatory Reform: State Rep. Chris Campbell (D-West Lafayette)

• Insurance: State Rep. Terri J. Austin (D-Anderson)

• Judiciary: State Rep. B. Patrick Bauer (D-South Bend)

• Local Government: State Rep. Chris Chyung (D-Dyer)

• Natural Resources: State Rep. Tonya Pfaff (D-Terre Haute)

• Public Health: State Rep. Robin Shackleford (D-Indianapolis)

• Public Policy: State Rep. Justin Moed (D-Indianapolis)

• Roads and Transportation: State Rep. Dan Forestal (D-Indianapolis)

• Rules and Legislative Procedures: State Rep. Ryan Dvorak (D-South Bend)

• Select Committee on Government Reduction: State Rep. Carolyn Jackson (D-Hammond)

• Utilities, Energy, and Telecommunications: State Rep. Matt Pierce (D-Bloomington)

• Veterans Affairs and Public Safety: State Rep. Karlee Macer (D-Indianapolis)

• Ways and Means: State Rep. Gregory W. Porter (D-Indianapolis)

• Statutory Committee on Ethics: State Rep. Sue Errington (D-Muncie), Vice Chair

• Interstate and International Cooperation: State Rep. Mara Candelaria Reardon (D-Munster)

• Committee on Joint Rules: State Rep. Phil GiaQuinta (D-Fort Wayne)

The 2019 Indiana General Assembly will convene in January.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}