Carol Stephan has been named chairperson of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission. She is the first woman to serve in the role and succeeds Jim Atterholt, who has taken over as Governor Mike Pence's chief of staff. Stephan named Carolene Mays as vice chair.

May 20, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Governor Mike Pence today named Carol Stephan as Chairperson of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC).

“A servant leader in every sense of the word, Carol Stephan has the vision and drive necessary to chair the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission,” said Governor Pence. “Given her depth of knowledge and passion for the Commission's work, I am confident she will continue to strengthen the agency's efforts and will work tirelessly to ensure the very best service for Hoosier utilities customers across the state.”

Stephan, of Indianapolis, was appointed to the IURC earlier this year and becomes the first female Chair of the Commission. She replaces former Chairman Jim Atterholt, who recently stepped down to serve as Chief of Staff in the Office of the Governor. Stephan most recently served as Assistant General Counsel for the IURC and has extensive experience in State Government, having worked as General Counsel for the Indiana Office of Utility Consumer Counselor, Interim Deputy Commissioner and Director of Partner Services for the Indiana Department of Workforce Development, and Deputy Attorney General in the Bankruptcy/Inheritance Tax Division in the Office of the Attorney General of Indiana. She also spent time working with Goodwill Industries. Stephan earned her undergraduate degree from Indiana University and her law degree from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

In her new capacity, Chairperson Stephan designated Commissioner Carolene Mays as vice chair, a role Commissioner Mays has assumed in recent years. Although not a formal position under prior chairs, the vice chair role has traditionally provided support when the chair is unavailable. Duties typical of this role will include administrative functions such as payroll, attendance at speaking engagements, and assistance with the agency budget.

Mays served as a Democratic state lawmaker in the Indiana House from 2002 to 2008, where she received several Legislator of the Year awards. She also previously worked as Publisher and President of the Indianapolis Recorder Newspaper and the Indiana Minority Business Magazine. She currently serves as the elected President of the Mid-America Regulatory Conference, as a member of the National Association of Utility Regulatory Commissioners Water and Washington Action Committees, and as Chairperson of the Critical Infrastructure Committee.

“With the blessing of Governor Pence, it is my pleasure to formally recognize Commissioner Mays as the IURC's vice chair,” said Chairperson Stephan. “Her expertise is valued and welcomed during this time of transition, and I look forward to continuing to work with her on behalf of Hoosiers.”

Members of the IURC are Chairperson Carol Stephan, Commissioner Carolene Mays, Commissioner Angela Weber and Commissioner David Ziegner.

Source: The Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}