Ken Sauer has assumed the position of commission chair of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact for the 2018-19 year. He previously served terms as vice chair and treasurer. One of four regional higher education compacts in the United States, MHEC is a nonprofit regional organization assisting its 12 member Midwestern states in advancing higher education through interstate cooperation and resource sharing. The primary constituents served by the Midwestern Higher Education Compact are nearly 1,000 public and private nonprofit institutions in the member states whose combined enrollments total over 4.2 million students.

Sauer has served as a MHEC commissioner since October 2007, as the governor’s designee. He was reappointed in March 2017, as Governor Eric Holcomb’s designee.

Indiana has been a member of the Compact since March of 1996. Indiana higher education institutions, school districts, state and local governments, as well as students and families have saved nearly $51 million by using MHEC’s programs and contracts since becoming a member.

Additional Indiana MHEC Commissioners are: Dr. Greg Goode, executive director of government relations for Indiana State University, Dr. Charles R. Johnson, Jr., president of Vincennes University, Representative Wendy McNamara, and Senator Andy Zay. Ms. Teresa Lubbers, commissioner for the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, serves as commissioner alternate.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}