One of the most prolific coaches in women’s college basketball history is stepping down. Muffet McGraw, who has led the University of Notre Dame women’s basketball team since 1987 and was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2017, has announced her retirement.

During her career, McGraw led her teams to 936 wins, including 842 at Notre Dame. The university says she became the fourth-fastest coach to hit the 900-win milestone during the 2018-2019 season.

McGraw also led Notre Dame to nine Final Four appearances and two NCAA Division I National Championships in 2001 and 2018.

“It has been my great honor to represent the University of Notre Dame these past 33 years, but the time has come for me to step down as your head basketball coach,” McGraw said. “I want to thank Monk Malloy and Father Jenkins for giving me the opportunity to coach the game I love at a university I love. I have learned much about leadership from the many athletic directors with whom I have served, and in particular, I want to thank Jack Swarbrick for his unwavering support.”

Notre Dame says McGraw will remain active within the university and local communities following her retirement.

“It is inevitable and appropriate that as we mark Muffet’s retirement from coaching today, much of the focus will be on the remarkable record of competitive success that makes her a Hall of Fame coach,” said Swarbrick. “But my reflections go more to her as an educator, friend, and role model. Every time I had the privilege of stepping into her classroom, be it at practice or courtside during a game, I was struck by how much she cared about her students and how important it was for her to use basketball as a vehicle to help develop future leaders.

The university says McGraw is just one of five NCAA Division I men’s or women’s basketball coaches with at least 930 wins, nine Final Fours and multiple championships. The others are Pat Summitt, Tara VanDerveer, Geno Auriemma and Duke men’s coach Mike Krzyzewski.

Story Continues Below