Several mayors from Indiana will play a role in next week's annual winter meeting of the U.S. Conference of Mayors. They will join nearly 300 other leaders from throughout the country for presentations on public safety, economic development and quality of life issues. Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard presides over the mayors professional sports alliance and is co-chair of the mayors water council.

Energy Independence and Climate Protection Task Force is co-chaired by Carmel Mayor Jim Brainard and Bridgeport, Connecticut Bill Finch.

Gary Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson is chair of the conference's working group of mayors and police chiefs.

January 15, 2015

News Release

WASHINGTON D.C. – On the heels of President Obama's State of the Union Address (SOTU) and under the leadership of USCM Sacramento Mayor Kevin Johnson, more than 290 of the nation’s mayors will convene in Washington, D.C. at the Capital Hilton Hotel to engage with Administration officials, Congressional leaders business leaders to ensure the health and economic recovery of America's cities. This meeting comes at a critical time as the 114th Congress begins, with many new leaders and members in both the House and Senate.

Mayors are available for response to the President’s SOTU address and will hold an OPENING PRESS CONFERENCE on Wednesday, January 21 at 12:00 Noon in the Statler Room on the 2nd Floor of the Capital Hilton, where they will release the results of a national poll surveying public perceptions of local government.

Highlights of the meeting include:

Wednesday, Jan 21: “State of The Cities Address” by USCM President Johnson, D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser; Labor Secretary Tom Perez; Education Secretary Arne Duncan, Housing Secretary Juli?n Castro; Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz; U.S. Trade Ambassador Michael Froman; U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (RI); Co-Chairs of President Obama's Task Force on 21st Century Policing Laurie Robinson and Charles Ramsey; Best Practice Forum on Summer Jobs and Young Employment; Women Mayors Session on STEM Careers for Young Women, New Mayors/First Time Attendees Session*

Thursday, Jan 22: Strengthening Community Policing Session w/ Co-Chairs of President Obama’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing Charles Ramsey and Laurie Robinson, COPS Office Dir. Ron Davis and White House Intergovernmental Affairs Dir. Jerry Abramson; Homeland Secretary Jeh Johnson; Export-Import Bank Chairman and President Fred Hochberg; House Transportation and Infrastructure Chairman Shuster w/ Transportation Sec. Anthony Foxx; U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (IL), U.S. Rep. Charlie Dent (PA), Dr. Benjamin Barber: If Mayors Ruled the World remarks; Uber Sr. VP for Policy and Strategy David Plouffe; Childhood Obesity Prevention Awards; Leadership in the Arts Awards;

Friday, January 23: Panel Discussion w/ Former Mayors in the Administration: Housing Sec. Castro, Agricultural Sec. Vilsack, Transportation Sec. Foxx, White House Intergovernmental Affairs Dir. Jerry Abramson; Export-Import Bank Chairman and Pres. Fred Hochberg; My Brother’s Keeper Task Force Mtg.

The USCM is proud to announce Wells Fargo as the title sponsor for the meeting. Wells Fargo & Company is a nationwide, diversified financial services company with $1.6 trillion in assets. Founded in 1852, Wells Fargo provides banking, insurance, investments, mortgage, and consumer and commercial finance through more than 9,000 locations, more than 12,500 ATMs, online (, and mobile devices.

WHAT: OPENING PRESS CONFERENCE OF THE 83rd Winter Meeting of The USCM & SOTU Response:

Sacramento, CA Mayor Kevin Johnson, USCM President (D)

Baltimore, MD Mayor Stephanie Rawlings Blake, USCM Vice President (D)

Oklahoma City Mayor Mick Cornett, USCM Second Vice President (R)

Tom Cochran, USCM CEO and Executive Director

+ U.S. Mayors from across the country

WHEN: Wednesday, January 21st at 12:00 NOON ET

*Newly-Elected Mayors Attending USCM Winter Mtg (partial listing only):

Beverly Hills, CA Mayor Lili Bosse

Charlotte, NC Mayor Daniel Clodfelter

Cincinnati, OH Mayor John Cranley

Detorit, MI Mayor Mike Duggan

Downey, CA Mayor Luis Marquez

Glendale, CA Mayor Sareh Sinanyan

Greensboro, NC Mayor Nancy Vaughn

El Paso, TX Mayor Oscar Leeser

Fargo, ND Mayor Timothy Mahoney

Independence, Mayor MO Eileen Weir

Jackson, MS Mayor Tony Yarber

Long Beach, CA Mayor Robert Garcia

Mesa, AZ Mayor John Giles

Newark, NJ Mayor Ras Baraka

Oakland, CA Mayor Libby Schaaf

Providence, RI Mayor Jorge Elorza

Reno, NC Mayor Hillary Schieve

San Antonio, TX Mayor Ivy Taylor

San Buenaventura, CA Mayor Cheryl Heitman

San Diego, CA Mayor Kevin Faulconer

Tallahassee, FL Mayor Andrew Gillum

Torrance, CA Mayor Patrick Furey

Trenton, NJ Mayor Eric Jackson

Washington, DC Muriel Bowser

The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. There are nearly 1400 such cities in the country today, and each city is represented in the Conference by its chief elected official, the mayor. Like us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter at

Source: U.S. Conference of Mayors

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}