A nine-member bipartisan commission will lead the planning, programming, and initiatives surrounding Indianapolis’ bicentennial celebration in 2020 and 2021. The commission has been appointed by Mayor Joe Hogsett and includes two former mayors. 

The commission will focus on fundraising for bicentennial events. It will also create projects to engage community organizations and will spearhead the celebration events that will start June of 2020, and continue through the summer of 2021.  

“In acknowledging this milestone for our great city, we want to recognize a history of changes, challenges, and—through it all—an underlying spirit that has shaped Indianapolis’ success and defined its progress.  Once described decades ago as ‘the typical city in which to find the typical American family,’ in truth, Indianapolis has always been far from typical,” said Mayor Hogsett.  

The commission members are: 

• Bart Peterson (Honorary Co-Chair)

• Greg Ballard (Honorary Co-Chair)

• Keira Amstutz

• Yvonne Shaheen

• Justice Theodore “Ted” Boehm

• John Krauss

• Steve Campbell

• Shannon Williams

• Molly Chavers

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}