Marian University has received accreditation for two new master's degrees in education. Starting in the fall semester, the university will offer a Master's in Special Education and a Master's in Educational Leadership. July 9, 2014

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — Marian University ( announced today that the Higher Learning Commission has accredited two new master’s degrees in education, to be offered this fall at the university’s campus on the west side of Indianapolis. The university will now offer a Master’s in Special Education (M.A.Ed.) and Master’s in Educational Leadership (M.A.Ed.) through its Academy for Teaching and Learning Leadership. Those pursing the M.A.Ed. in Educational Leadership can also earn a Concentration in Catholic Education distinction.

The Master’s in Special Education is designed for currently licensed K-12 teachers who want to specialize in offering instruction to students with special needs. Most students will earn the M.A.Ed. in Special Education in four semesters, taking three classes per semester. Two of the classes are offered online.

The Master’s in Education Leadership is designed for currently licensed K-12 teachers who want to become administrators, including principals, in K-12 schools. The curriculum complements the Building Level Administrator license program already offered through the Marian University Academy for Teaching and Learning Leadership, essentially allowing teachers to earn both the license and the master’s degree in a shorter amount of time. Students in the program will be able to earn their master’s degree as quickly as 18 months, and then complete an internship in one additional semester. They must then pass a State-required standardized test to earn their Building Level Administrator License, which qualifies them for jobs in school administration.

Teachers with an interest in becoming a principal or administrator in Catholic schools can choose to pursue a curriculum that earns an M.A.Ed. in Education Leadership with a Concentration in Catholic Education. Last year, more than 15% of Catholic schools in the Indianapolis Archdiocese had openings in administration, and that trend is expected to continue. Teachers currently employed in Catholic schools will be eligible for scholarships that cover 25% of their tuition, if they pursue the M.A.Ed. in Education Leadership with a Concentration in Catholic Education. Those who demonstrate exceptional promise may be eligible for scholarships for up to 50% of tuition, as funds permit. Those in the Archdiocese of Indianapolis may apply for additional funding through the Archdiocese. Marian University is Indianapolis’ only Catholic institution of higher learning.

In addition to the Building Level Administrator licensure program, Marian University’s Academy for Teaching and Learning Leadership also currently offers Master’s of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) degrees. It also offers a Master’s Bridge to Teaching (M.B.T.) program that leads to initial licensure in Indiana for primary and intermediate grades in elementary schools, various secondary subject areas for middle and high schools, culminating in a M.A.T. degree. The programs provide pathways for bachelor’s degree-holders to change careers and become elementary, middle school, and high school teachers.

The Marian University Academy for Teaching and Learning Leadership is a Bush Institute Alliance to Reform Education Leadership (AREL) affiliate and a KIPP Leadership Design Fellowship (KLDF) member.

For more information about Marian University’s Academy for Teaching and Learning Leadership, visit or call 317.955.6128.

About Marian University Indianapolis

Marian University (, founded in Indianapolis in 1937, is the only Catholic liberal arts university in central Indiana. It serves a student body of more than 2,700 through dedication to excellent teaching and learning in the Franciscan and liberal arts traditions. Marian University is one of Indiana’s 31 independent colleges and one of 244 Catholic colleges and universities nationwide.

Since 2001, Marian University has been led by President Daniel J. Elsener, whose vision and leadership are transforming the university. In 2013, Marian University opened the Michael A. Evans Center for Health Sciences, home to its College of Osteopathic Medicine. Marian University has amassed 26 national championships in cycling and in 2012 won the NAIA national championship in football.

Source: Marian University

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}