The NBA Development League has selected Fort Wayne Mad Ants President Jeff Potter 2014 Team Executive of the Year. He helped lead the organization to its first championship and the best record in the league. June 12, 2014

News Release

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Jeff Potter, president of the 2014 NBA Development League champion Fort Wayne Mad Ants, was today named the 2014 NBA Development League Team Executive of the Year, NBA D-League President Dan Reed announced. The NBA Development League Team Executive of the Year is determined by peer voting and teams are not allowed to vote for themselves.

“We are very pleased to honor Jeff with the Team Executive of the Year Award in recognition of the Mad Ants' milestone year both on and off the floor,” said Reed. “Under Jeff's leadership, the team has become an integral part of the Fort Wayne community and established itself as part of the rich tradition of Indiana basketball.”

As president of the Mad Ants, Potter oversees all business and basketball operations for the team. Through his leadership, the Mad Ants captured their first NBA D-League title after a benchmark season in which the team had the best regular season record (34-16) for the league and won its first Eastern Division crown. Potter's squad, which set a team regular season record for wins and swept their opponents in the postseason (6-0), also featured the league's Co-Most Valuable Player and Sportsmanship Award recipient Ron Howard and Coach of the Year Conner Henry. In addition, five Mad Ants earned postseason honors including All-NBA D-League selections Howard (First Team), Tony Mitchell (third team), and Tim Ohlbrecht (honorable mention); All-Rookie selection Trey McKinney-Jones (third team); and All-Defensive Team Sadiel Rojas (second team).

A member of the Board of Directors for the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, Potter's impact stretched beyond the court as he forged a longtime partnership with Lutheran Health Network, the first presenting sponsorship in the team's history, and enhanced the team's social responsibility initiative, which included over 160 community service projects in the area. In recognition of the team’s commitment, Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry proclaimed Wednesday, April 30, 2014 as Fort Wayne Mad Ants Day following their triumph in the NBA D-League Finals.

“I am deeply honored, humbled, and thankful that my peers voted to give me this wonderful award,” said Potter. “It has been a banner year for the Mad Ants both in our business and on the court, and it does not happen without my fantastic staff, which helps make this job the best in the world. I share this award with them and our entire Mad Ants family.”

Previous winners of the award include Bill Boyce (Texas Legends, 2013), David Higdon (Bakersfield Jam, 2012), Bert Garcia (Rio Grande Valley Vipers, 2011) and Jon Jennings (Maine Red Claws, 2010).

Source: The NBA Development League

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}