The Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site has named the recipients of the 2017 Advancing American Democracy Award. This year’s honor goes to PBS President & CEO Paula Kerger and WFYI Public Media President & CEO Lloyd Wright (pictured). Kerger joined PBS in 2006, and is the longest serving president and CEO in PBS history. Wright has more than four decades of service in public media and is the longest-serving station manager in Indianapolis.

The Advancing American Democracy Award is given annually by the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site to “an individual who, in an exemplary way, advances the values of American democracy by encouraging citizen participation in self-government and in greater civic society.” Past award recipients include Senator Richard Lugar, Representative Lee Hamilton, Judge Sarah Evans Barker and award-winning Hamilton biographer, Ron Chernow. 

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}