In an annual tradition, the winners of the prestigious Radio Wayne Awards were presented by Radio Ink Publisher Deborah Parenti at the Radio Show, with Emmis Chairman/CEO Jeff Smulyan taking honors as America’s Best Broadcaster for 2016. The Radio Wayne Awards are named in honor of “Radio Wayne” Cornils, who set a great example for professionalism in radio. A successful small-market radio broadcaster, Cornils also served as executive vice president of the RAB and SVP/Radio at the NAB. The Radio Wayne Awards are presented to the radio superstars whose hard work, dedication, and creativity separate them from the pack. They recognize the people who make the industry work, every single day.

Here are all the winners. Congratulations!


America’s Best Broadcaster
Jeff Smulyan
Emmis Communications

Interactive Seller of the Year
Mike Gale
Hubbard Radio
St. Paul

Streetfighter (AE) of the Year
Marc Zallis
Beasley Broadcast Group

Local Sales Manager of the Year
Tom Hansen
Tuned In Broadcasting

Stu Olds National Sales Manager of the Year
Michael Mayer
Greater Media

Director of Sales of the Year
Jeff Gonsales
Hubbard Radio
St. Paul

Market/General Manager of the Year
Keith Lawless
Cox Radio
St. Petersburg

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}