Ivy Tech Community College is set to award more than two dozen honorary degrees during commencement ceremonies this month. Recipients include three current mayors and Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. Excerpt From News Release

Originally Posted May 6, 2014

The college will also present honorary degrees to 29 individuals this year. The recipients are people who have played significant roles in their communities and in their contributions to Ivy Tech. Each of this year's honorary degree recipients will receive an Associate of Science in College and Community Service in recognition of their commitment to education and Ivy Tech Community College.

This year's ceremonies will be scheduled as follows:

May 8 at 7 p.m., Hulman Center, Terre Haute. Featured speaker is Honorable Duke Bennett, Mayor of Terre Haute. Honorary degree recipients include Patrick R. and Nancy Ralston.

May 9 at 6 p.m., Joyce Center at the University of Notre Dame, South Bend. Featured speaker is Tracy D. Graham. Honorary degree recipients include Tracy D. Graham and Jerry H. Hollenbaugh.

May 9 at 7 p.m. (CST), Ford Center, Evansville. Featured speaker is City of Evansville Mayor Lloyd Winnecke. Honorary degree recipients include the Honorable Lloyd Winnecke, Mary Roberson and Dr. Dan Schenk.

May 9 at 7 p.m., Allen County War Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne. Featured speaker is student Audrey Alleyne Quiniou. Honorary degree recipient is Sandra J. May.

May 10 at 10 a.m., Ivy Tech Community College, Kokomo. Honorary degree recipients include Annalee Benedict, Larry West and Jean Cole.

May 10 at 10 a.m., Franklin Middle School, Franklin. Honorary degree recipient is Bill W. Bailey.

May 10 at 11 a.m., Genesis Convention Center, Gary. Featured speaker is Mark T. Massel, Vice President of Indiana Energy Association. Honorary degree recipients include Linda Woloshansky and Mark T. Massel.

May 10 at 1:30 p.m., Tiernan Center at Richmond High School, Richmond. Featured speaker is Dr. Katherine Cruz-Uribe, Chancellor of Indiana University-East. Posthumous honorary degree recipient is Jerry Joe Meyer.

May 10 at 10 a.m. and 3 p.m., Indiana Convention Center, Indianapolis. Featured speakers include Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers and Vice President for Human Resources at WellPoint, Karin Sarratt. Honorary degree recipients include Teresa Lubbers, P. Dean Denhart, Joseph Breedlove and Karin Sarratt.

May 11 at 1 p.m., Horner Center at Hanover College, Hanover. Featured speaker is State Rep. Randy Frye. Honorary degree recipient is James F. Helms.

May 11 at 2 p.m., Elliott Hall at Purdue University, West Lafayette. Featured speaker is Glenda Ritz, Indiana State Superintendent of Public Instruction. Honorary degree recipients include Tony Roswarski, Mike Smith and Christopher Lee McBarnes.

May 13 at 6 p.m., Northside Christian Church, New Albany. Dr. Barbara Bichelmeyer will be the featured speaker. Honorary degree recipient is Dr. Neyland G. Clark.

May 15 at 7 p.m., Emens Auditorium at Ball State University, Muncie. Kola Olasba will be the featured speaker. Honorary degree recipients include Leland Boren, Linda Ambrose Loose and Robert D. Loose.

May 16 at 6 p.m., Indiana University Auditorium, Bloomington. Featured speaker is graduate Jessica Troxel. Honorary degree recipients include Chancellor Emeritus John R. Whikehart and University Chancellor Emeritus Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis, Ph.D.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association

Source: Ivy Tech Community College

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}