Finalists from each of Ivy Tech Community College's 14 campuses have been announced for the school's highest faculty honor. One President's Award for Excellence in Instruction winner will ultimately receive the system-wide Glenn W. Sample Award for Excellence in Instruction. May 29, 2015

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Ivy Tech Community College has selected 14 members of its faculty to receive the annual President's Award for Excellence in Instruction.

In a tradition that began in 1983, one faculty member from each of the College's 14 regions is chosen to receive the President's Award. From the 14 recipients, one is then selected to receive the Glenn W. Sample Award for Excellence in Instruction, the College's highest honor for faculty.

“We are excited to honor these instructors and recognize that Ivy Tech Community College has some of the most talented and caring instructors you will ever find in a classroom,” said Ivy Tech President Thomas J. Snyder. “I hear from students on a weekly basis about how our faculty members have helped them change their lives. Our instructors believe in our students and are committed to their success.”

The 2015 President's Awards recipients and their campuses are:

(Fort Wayne) Northeast region: Lisa Beringer, Assistant Professor and Program Chair of Social Sciences

(Sellersburg) Southern Indiana region: Kimberly Kruer, Assistant Professor and Program Chair of Physical Therapist Assistant

(Lafayette) Lafayette region: Janet Brodsky, Assistant Professor of Anatomy and Physiology; Program Chair of Life Sciences

(Kokomo) Kokomo region: Josh Rockey, Associate Professor of Communications; Department Chair of University Transfer Division

(Lawrenceburg) Southeast region: R.H. Nicholson, Associate Professor of English

(Evansville) Southwest region: Joseph Hostetler, Professor and Program Chair of Visual Communications

(South Bend) North Central region: Katherine Kent, Program Chair of Environmental Design and Global Studies Coordinator

(Richmond) Richmond region: Rebecca Keen, Assistant Professor and Program Chair of Medical Assisting and Externship Coordinator

(Columbus) Columbus region: Dawne Wise, Assistant Professor and Program Chair of Medical Assisting

(Indianapolis) Central Indiana region: Randy Fox, Assistant Professor of Automotive Technology

(Terre Haute) Wabash Valley region: Lisa Jeffers Baker, Instructor of Academic Skills Advancement

(East Chicago) Northwest region: Carlos Hernandez, Associate Professor and Program Chair of Life and Physical Sciences

(Bloomington) Bloomington region: Jennifer Daily-Mantha, Assistant Professor of Political Science and Department Chair of Social Sciences and Languages

(Marion) East Central region: Tami Shepard, Clinical Coordinator of Imaging Sciences

Ivy Tech Community College is the state's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Ivy Tech Community College

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}