Ivy Tech Community College has announced a new organizational structure which it says will better serve students and the state. Under the new structure, Ivy Tech will have 19 campuses throughout the state, which will be "self-sustaining units" with their own chancellors.

Previously, multiple campuses reported to regional leadership. Ivy Tech says campus chancellors will be announced between June 15 and August 1, with staff transitioning into more campus-aligned, student-focused roles over the next year. 

The college says faculty councils will be formed both statewide and at the campus level.

"In June of last year, I toured the state and heard from more than 750 Ivy Tech colleagues," said Ivy Tech President Sue Ellspermann. "The bi-regional structure was causing unintended consequences and difficulties in serving local communities. Our overarching focus with the organizational structure is to put more ‘community’ into community college, place more attention on students, and reduce friction across our large organization."

The campuses under the new structure will include:

  • Lake County (Gary/East Chicago)
  • Valparaiso
  • South Bend/Elkhart
  • Fort Wayne
  • Lafayette
  • Indianapolis
  • Bloomington
  • Evansville
  • Kokomo
  • Muncie
  • Terre Haute
  • Columbus
  • Sellersburg
  • Michigan City
  • Marion
  • Anderson
  • Richmond
  • Lawrenceburg
  • Madison

Ivy Tech will also offer classes at 26 educational sites throughout the state, including Warsaw, Logansport, Noblesville, New Castle, Avon, Greencastle, Franklin, Batesville, LaPorte, Rochester, Monticello, Peru, Wabash, Frankfort, Crawfordsville, Rockville, Mooresville, Shelbyville, Connersville, Greensburg, Linton, Seymour, North Vernon, Mid-America Science Park (Scottsburg), Princeton, and Tell City

On the academic side, the college will reinstate a "school" model at each campus, which it says more closely aligns with Indiana’s key economic sectors. The schools include:

  • School of Business, Logistics & Supply Chain
  • School of Public Affairs and Social Services
  • School of Information Technology
  • School of Arts, Sciences & Education
  • School of Health Sciences
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering & Applied Technology

"This is not a project to reduce headcount, or eliminate staff or campus locations," said Ellspermann. "Similarly, we will not add staff. We do, however, anticipate cost-savings over time with more efficient operations allowing us to focus more resources to our programs and student services."