Ivy Tech Community College Southwest has reached a joint admissions agreement with a four-year institution in Kentucky. The deal applies to Ivy Tech students pursuing a bachelor's degree in any academic area at Western Kentucky University. August 6, 2014

News Release

BOWLING GREEN, Ken. – Ivy Tech Community College and WKU signed a joint admissions agreement today (Aug. 5) that will offer Ivy Tech–Southwest students a seamless pathway to a four-year degree. This is WKU's ninth joint admissions agreement. It is the first WKU agreement in Indiana, and only the second agreement outside of Kentucky (the other being Volunteer State Community College in Tennessee). There are 645 students currently jointly admitted with WKU through the eight existing joint admissions agreements.

“We are pleased to enter into our ninth joint admissions agreement with prominent community colleges across WKU's primary service region, and the first one in Indiana. Ivy Tech is a highly regarded institution and one with which WKU is proud to partner,” said WKU President Gary Ransdell. “This agreement paves the way for better advising for Ivy Tech students and an easier transition to the last two years required to complete a bachelor's degree. We look forward to facilitating a larger number of Ivy Tech transfers to WKU to finish bachelor's degrees and meet the needs of employers across our region of Kentucky and Southern Indiana.”

The goals of the partnership include:

Eliminating barriers for students in attaining their educational goals

Improving student success and degree attainment

Reducing the time to degree and the cost to students

A joint admissions student first enrolls at Ivy Tech Community College. When they complete a two-year degree, they then enroll at WKU to pursue a bachelor's degree. Students under the agreement are advised by both Ivy Tech Community College and WKU, creating a smooth transition from Ivy Tech–Southwest to WKU.

Students can begin the WKU admissions process at any time while enrolled at Ivy Tech–Southwest. However, to ensure that courses will earn credit in transfer, students are encouraged to start the program immediately. The joint admissions agreement is applicable for Ivy Tech–Southwest students pursuing any academic area at WKU. Ivy Tech–Southwest students from Dubois, Gibson, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Vanderburgh and Warrick counties are also eligible to receive in-state tuition at the WKU Owensboro campus.

“By completing two years at Ivy Tech and then transferring to a four-year institution such as WKU, our students have the opportunity to achieve their educational goals at a fraction of the average cost,” said Ivy Tech Chancellor Jonathan Weinzapfel. “This agreement will provide additional resources and support for local students, and will result in more highly skilled workers in our community. It’s a win-win for the tri-state.”

Sources: Western Kentucky University, Ivy Tech Community College

Story Continues Below