The Indiana University Athletics Hall of Fame has announced its class of 2013. This year's seven honorees will be inducted next month and bring the number of Hall of Fame members to more than 200. September 5, 2013

News Release

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. — Indiana University will welcome seven members to its Athletics Hall of Fame, Indiana University Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass announced today. Celebrating its 32nd induction ceremony, this year’s class brings the current roster of Hall of Fame inductees to 202.

Larry Barbiere (Swimming, 1970-73), W.M. Lowe Bryan (Indiana University President 1902-1937, Baseball 1884), Bob Fitch (Men’s Golf head coach, 1956-88), Mike Goodrich (Track, 1969-71), Brian Maisonneuve (Soccer, 1991-94), Amy McGrath (Swimming, 1980-82, Diving, 1980-82) and Todd Yeagley (Soccer, 1991-94) will be officially inducted at the annual Hall of Fame dinner on October 4, and will be recognized at halftime of the football game against Penn State at Memorial Stadium the following day.

“This great class of inductees represents the highest achievements and ideals of IU Athletics,” said Glass. “It is a source of great pride to be able to recognize these legendary athletes, coaches, and administrators with our highest honor.”

The IU Athletics Hall of Fame, established in 1982 by the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics in conjunction with the Varsity Club and the I-Association, recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the prestige of IU both on and off the field of competition.


Swimming – 1970-1973

One of the key figures in a golden era of IU swimming, Barbiere won swimming letters in 1970, 1971, 1972 and 1973. During those years he was part of four Big Ten and NCAA Championship teams. Barbiere is an 11 time All-American, and was the NCAA champion in the backstroke in 1970. Barbiere won Big Ten titles in the 100 and 200 backstrokes and 200 individual medley and was on the 400-medley relay championship team in 1970. He was a member of 1968 U.S. Olympic Team where he placed 4th in the 100 backstroke.


Indiana University President 1902-1937, Baseball, 1884

There would be no Hoosier Big Ten champions without the effort and drive of William Lowe Bryan. Bryan served as the president of Indiana University from 1902-1937 after serving earlier as vice-president from 1893-1902. He is widely credited for pushing for IU’s membership in the Big Ten conference, leading the university and athletic department through a period of tremendous growth. He was also a baseball letterman in 1884, the only I-Man to serve as IU’s president.


Men’s Golf Head Coach, 1956-1988

Fitch was the head men’s golf coach from 1956-1988, as well as manager of IU’s golf facility. He led Indiana University to Big Ten championships in 1962, 1968, 1970, 1973, 1974 and 1975, along with 10 second-place finishes and 5 third-place finishes – 21 of 32 in the top three. In NCAA competition, IU placed sixth in 1974 and seventh in 1975 and finished in the top 12 five times under Bob’s leadership. He coached five individual Big Ten champions and five All-Americans. Fitch also served as assistant football coach at IU from 1952-56. Fitch was All-American end in football at Minnesota and at one time held the world record in the discus and was NCAA champion in the discus. Deceased.


Track, 1969-1971

Goodrich won track letters in 1969, 1970 and 1971. He won Big Ten indoor sprint titles in the 300 in 1969-70-71 and outdoor Big Ten titles in the 220 in 1970 and 1971. He ran the lead-off leg on the winning 440-relay teams in 1969-70-71, which established a Big Ten record. Goodrich earned sixteen medals in Big Ten Championships, eight of which were gold. In addition, he earned the status of All-American five times. At the time of his graduation he held IU records in 300-yard dash and shared a record in the 60-yard dash indoors, and was record holder in the 100 and 220-yard dashes outdoors as well at 440-yard relay. Goodrich also held Big Ten records in the 300 and 220 and shared the 100-yard record. He was co-captain of the team in 1970-71, was a recipient of the Billy Hayes Award and the L G Balfour Award and in 1968 was named the fastest indoor freshman sprinter of the year by Track & Field Magazine. He advanced to the quarterfinal of the 1976 U.S. Olympic Trials in the 200 meters while running for the University of Chicago Track Club.


Soccer, 1991-1994

Maisonneuve represented Indiana Soccer at the highest levels, competing at the 1996 Olympics and the 1998 World Cup as a member of the U.S. Men’s National Team. He won soccer letters in 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994 and was All-Big Ten in 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994 and Big Ten Player-of-the-Year in 1993 and 1994. Maisonneuve was Academic All-Big Ten in 1993 and 1994, first-team All-America in 1994 and second-team All-America in 1993. He won the Herrmann Trophy in 1994 as National Player of the Year. He ranked ninth in career points upon graduation and still sits among the top 15. Maisonneuve played for Major League Soccer’s Columbus Crew from 1996-2005, where he was a three-time MLS All-Star. He served as assistant coach with the U-17 National Team and the U-20 National Team from 2005-2008. Maisonneuve was an assistant coach at the University of Louisville from 2008-2010 and joined Indiana University as assistant coach in 2010, with the Hoosiers winning the NCAA championship title in 2012.


Swimming, 1980-1982, Diving, 1980-1982

A pioneer in women’s diving at Indiana, McGrath won swimming letters 1980, 1981, and 1982. She was an All-American in diving in 1980, 1981 and 1982 and AIAW 1-meter diving champion in 1980. Amy won Big Ten 1-meter and 3-meter diving titles in 1981, and was a six-time All-American. She was a member of 1980 U.S. Olympic team in platform diving and a member of the 1982 World University Games team.


Soccer, 1991-1994

One of the most decorated players in IU Soccer history, Yeagley won soccer letters in 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994, and was All-Big Ten in 1991, 1992, 1993, and 1994. He was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1991 and second-team All-American in 1991, 1992, 1993, and first-team All-American in 1994. He is one of only two IU players to earn All-American honors all four years. Yeagley also received the Missouri Athletic Club Player of the Year award in 1994. He still ranks third on the IU career list in assists with 40. Yeagley played for Major League Soccer’s Columbus Crew from 1996-2002 and was assistant general manager for the Crew in 2002. Yeagley served as assistant coach at Indiana University from 2004-08. He was the head coach at Wisconsin in 2009, and was named head coach at Indiana University in 2010, leading the Hoosiers to an NCAA championship in 2012.

Source: Indiana University

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}