Indiana University's Lilly Family School of Philanthropy has named three recipients of its highest honor. The winners of the Henry A. Rosso Medals for Lifetime Achievement in Ethical Fundraising will be honored in November at a symposium in Indianapolis.

September 4, 2013

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — The Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy has announced the new recipients of its highest honor, the Henry A. Rosso Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Ethical Fund Raising.

The 2013 recipients of the Rosso Medal are: Dwight F. Burlingame, Kay Sprinkel Grace, and Raymond L. Handlan. All three will be honored during the school’s annual Symposium on Nov. 6 at the NCAA Conference Center in Indianapolis. Online registration for the symposium is now open.

“All three of this year's medal recipients are tireless champions for excellence and professionalism in fundraising in the U.S. and around the world,” said Dean Gene Tempel, founding dean of the IU Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. “They have heightened fundraisers’ awareness of the importance of research and ongoing professional development as crucial elements of effective fundraising practice and stewardship. Their individual visions and leadership have significantly strengthened and advanced the fundraising profession.”

In 1990, the Center of Philanthropy at Indiana University, the predecessor of the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, began awarding the Rosso Medal to outstanding individuals in recognition of their achievements in fundraising. The award is named to honor Henry A. “Hank” Rosso, a founder of the Center on Philanthropy and founding director of The Fund Raising School at the Center. Rosso’s teaching inspired generations of philanthropists, and his books are still considered the handbooks for fundraising professionals.

Burlingame, Ph.D., is director of M.A. Programs and professor of philanthropic studies at the Lilly Family School of Philanthropy. He is an active member of the Association of Fundraising Professional Research Council, the Association for Research on Non-profit Organizations and the International Society for Third-sector Research. Burlingame completed a six-year term in 2010 as editor of the Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly, the official journal of ARNOVA. He also is co-editor of the Philanthropic and Nonprofit Studies book series for the Indiana University Press.

Grace, founder and principal of Transforming Philanthropy, LLC, is the author of six books related to philanthropic practices and board engagement. A frequent speaker at the Association of Fundraising Professionals' (AFP) local and regional meetings, Grace will present this fall at the International Fundraising Congress in the Netherlands, the Blackbaud Conference in Sydney, Australia and the AFP Congress in Toronto, Canada. In 2014, she will be a key presenter at AFP International in San Antonio, and a featured speaker at fundraising conferences in Italy and Poland.

Handlan is president emeritus of Atlantic Philanthropies, having served from 1983 to 1993 as president of the organization that makes grants to provide life-changing opportunities to the disadvantaged. Prior to becoming involved in grant making, he had 25 years of experience in various fundraising positions at several universities, including Cornell University. As director of development at Cornell, Handlan led the university’s successful $250 million campaign from 1975-1980. Handlan also previously served on the board of the Center on Philanthropy.

About Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy

The nation’s first school of philanthropy, the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy is dedicated to improving philanthropy to improve the world by training and empowering students and professionals to be innovators and leaders who create positive and lasting change in the world. The school offers a comprehensive approach to philanthropy through its academic, research and international programs and through The Fund Raising School, Lake Institute on Faith & Giving and the Women’s Philanthropy Institute. Learn more at

About the 26th Annual Symposium: Timeless Values in a World of Change

To register, find hotel discount information, and view the list of speakers and panelists, go to: Early-bird registration is $250 through Oct. 4. Beginning Oct. 5, registration is $325. Registration closes Oct. 29.

Source: Indiana University

Story Continues Below