Indiana University will induct five new members into its Athletics Hall of Fame this year. They include the school's first women's basketball coach and players who had careers in the NBA and NFL. September 10, 2014

News Release

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana University will welcome five members to its Athletics Hall of Fame, Indiana University Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass announced Wednesday evening. Celebrating its 33rd induction ceremony, this year's class brings the current roster of Hall of Fame inductees to 207.

A.J. Guyton (Men's Basketball, 1997-2000), Adewale Ogunleye (Football, 1996-99), Ben Raimondi (Football, 1944-46), Benigno Fernandez (Men's Gymnastics, 1971-74) and Bea Gorton (Women's Basketball Coach, 1972-76) will officially be inducted at the annual Hall of Fame dinner on Friday, Nov. 7, and will be recognized at halftime of the IU-Penn State football game at Memorial Stadium the following day.

“It is an honor to welcome these legends into the IU Athletics Hall of Fame,” Glass said. “They embody everything a Hoosier represents in the classroom, in competition and in life. We are proud to recognize them for their service to IU.”

The IU Athletics Hall of Fame, established in 1982 by the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics in conjunction with the Varsity Club and the I-Association, recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the prestige of IU both on and off the field of competition.


A.J. Guyton won basketball letters in 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2000. The Peoria, Ill., native was Indiana's Most Valuable Player all four years, only the second Hoosier to achieve that feat. Guyton was All-Big Ten in 1998 and 2000, Big Ten Most Valuable Player in 2000 and Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1997. He was honored as an All-American in 2000 and led the Big Ten in scoring that same season, averaging 19.7 points per game. Guyton scored 2,100 points in his career, the fourth-highest total in program history, and he holds the IU record with 283 3-point field goals made. He played professionally for 10 years, including two years for the Chicago Bulls.


A three-time All-Big Ten honoree (1997-99), defensive end Adewale Ogunleye is Indiana's all-time leader in sacks (34.5) and tackles for loss (64). Ogunleye's career sacks rank sixth and career TFLs rank seventh in Big Ten history. The Staten Island, N.Y., native added 167 tackles, eight forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries over his four-year career. Ogunleye earned four letters and graduated with a degree in English. He spent 11 years in the National Football League with the Miami Dolphins, Chicago Bears and Houston Texans, during which he collected 389 tackles, 67 sacks, 17 forced fumbles and 14 fumble recoveries.


Ben Raimondi earned letters in 1944, 1945 and 1946. The starting quarterback on Indiana's 1945 Big Ten championship team, Raimondi threw for 10 touchdowns and led the conference in passing. After leading the country in passing efficiency, he earned second team All-America honors and first team All-Big Ten accolades in 1946. Upon graduation, Raimondi played in the 1947 College All-Star Game.


Benigno Fernandez was awarded letters in 1971, 1972, 1973 and 1974 and was named a co-captain in 1974. A four-time Big Ten champion and four-time All-American in the still rings, Fernandez placed second, fourth, third and fourth in his four NCAA appearances. He placed sixth in the still rings for Puerto Rico at the 1974 Pan American Games. That same year Fernandez was as a winner of the Balfour Award and a nominee for the Nissen Award. In 1979, he was the head gymnastics coach for Puerto Rico in the Pan American Games.


Bea Gorton was Indiana's first women's basketball varsity head coach and led the program from 1972-76. She compiled an overall record of 79-28 (.738), the top winning percentage in school history, and led IU to the Elite Eight of the AIAW national tournament in 1972 and 1974, and an AIAW Final Four appearance in 1973. In 1975, the Hoosiers played in the National Women's Invitation Tournament. Gorton served as an adviser to the AIAW organization from 1975-80. She coached the first and only IU women's All-American, Debbie Oing, and was nominated for the Wade Trophy for women's coach of the year in 1977. Gorton served as a member of the Kodak Coaches All-American Selection Committee in 1975-76, was a speaker at the International Olympic Scientific Congress in 1984 and 1988, and consulted at the Paralympics that were held in New York City in 1984. She has been invited as a lecturer in Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Hong Kong and Taiwan. Since serving as Indiana's head coach, Gorton worked on the faculty at Wheaton (Ill.) College, Taylor University and Bowling Green State University. She is now retired and living in Carol Stream, Ill.

Source: Indiana University

Story Continues Below