The Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law has honored three alumni during an annual joint meeting of the law school’s Board of Visitors and Alumni Association.

John Trimble (pictured),’81, has received the Distinguished Alumni Award. He is a partner with Lewis Wagner LLP. A past president of the Indianapolis Bar Association, he received that organization’s 2016 Professionalism Award. Trimble is also a past president of the Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana. He is a past chair of the Board of Visitors for the IU McKinney School of Law and presently serves as secretary of the board of the Indianapolis Legal Aid Society. Trimble graduated magna cum laude from IU McKinney, where he received the Faculty Award for Outstanding Graduate of the Year and was executive director of the Indiana Law Review. He is a 1977 graduate of Hanover College and serves on its Board of Trustees.

Jimmie McMillian (pictured), ’02, also received the Distinguished Alumni Award. He is senior corporate counsel for the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, IndyCar, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Productions and Clabber Girl. Formerly a partner at the Indianapolis office law firm Barnes & Thornburg, McMillian received the Maynard K. Hine Medal for service to the IUPUI campus in 2013. He was president of the law school’s alumni association in 2011-2012 and served as president of the Neal-Marshall IU Alumni Association in 2013. While in law school, McMillian served as a barrister of the Moot Court Team and as a member of the Trial Advocacy Team. He also served as a law clerk to then-Indiana Supreme Court Justice Frank Sullivan, Jr., from 2002-2004.

Also, Amber Rose Comer, ’11, has received the Early Career Achievement Award. She holds several appointments within Indiana University. Comer is an adjunct assistant professor of family medicine at the IU School of Medicine and is an adjunct professor of law at IU McKinney, where she has taught disability law. A translational scholar for the IUPUI Center for Translating Research into Practice, Comer earned a Ph.D. in Health Policy and Administration from the IU Fairbanks School of Public Health in 2015. She played a key role in the creation and passing of Senate Bill 175, which improves Indiana’s laws regarding healthcare surrogate decision making, signed by Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb in 2017. 

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}