Indiana State University has named its Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2014. The honorees include a longtime coach and administrator as well as a former Sycamore quarterback. January 16, 2014

News Release

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – Four former Sycamores have been selected for induction into the the Indiana State University Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2014 it was announced today by Ron Prettyman, Indiana State Director of Athletics.

The four include Alpha Cleary, an administrator and coach at Indiana State from 1958 to 1988, Reggie Allen, a member of the Sycamore football team from 1978 to 1981, and two former track & field stars in runner Angie Menser-Lansing (1995 to 1998) and high jumper Steve Parker (1991 to 1994).

“This Hall of Fame Class of 2014 is one that includes a broad base of outstanding former student athletes and an administrator who have left a significant mark on Sycamore Athletics,” Prettyman said.

They will be inducted Thursday, Oct. 9, during the 2014 Indiana State Homecoming Week.

“We are honored to have had such outstanding athletes and administrators in this induction class that have represented Indiana State and Sycamore Athletics in their sport and administrative areas so effectively,” Prettyman said. “We have record holders, fierce competitors and a strong administrator that impacted our programs when they were involved in Sycamore Athletics. It is not uncommon to see their continued support through their attendance at events and involvement in our program. Please join me in congratulating and welcoming this fine group to the Sycamore Athletics Hall of Fame.”

Cleary served Indiana State in a variety of capacities during her 30 years of service to the university. The 1954 graduate of Indiana University came to Indiana State as an Associate Professor of Physical Education and coached the women’s basketball team (1966-1969) as women’s intercollegiate athletics began to take shape at Indiana State.

She became the athletic director for the women’s program in 1972 and served as the associate director of athletics when the men's and women's programs were combined before retiring in 1988. Cleary also served as Indiana State's first Compliance Officer.

During her tenure as athletic director she directed the women's program of 13 sports from a meager start to a program with 128 grants-in-aid.

Cleary died on August 16, 2002 at the age of 69.

Allen was the quarterback for the Sycamore football team from 1978 through 1981, playing for Dick Jamison in 1978 and 1979 and for Dennis Raetz in 1980 and 1981. He was named the Missouri Valley Conference Offensive Player of the Year and the quarterback for the MVC All-Conference team in 1979 after leading the Sycamores to an 8-3 record.

Allen had six games of throwing for over 200 yards during his career. He is still second on the total offense for a career list (6,102 yards) and third in passing yards for a career (5,094 yards). Allen completed 367 passes in 782 attempts for 5,094 yards and 29 touchdowns during his career.

He ranks in the top 20 for passing yards in a season three times (14th with 1,678 yards in 1980, 17th with 1,468 yards in 1979, and 18th with 1,435 yards in 1981) and in the top 20 for total yardage in a season three times (11th in 1979 with 1,895 yards, 12th in 1980 with 1,880 yards, and 19th in 1981 with 1,690 yards).

Menser-Lansing was a five-time Missouri Valley Conference champion in track & field from 1995 to 1998 and earned 11 All-Missouri Valley Conference selections (six indoor and five outdoor). She also received multiple selections to the MVC Track & Field Scholar-Athlete team.

She was a member of the Sycamore distance medley relay team that won the MVC Indoor title in 1994 and 1996 and won then 1998 MVC Indoor mile. She was also a member of the 4×800 relay team that won the 1995 MVC Outdoor title with a time of 8:56.35 which still stands as the MVC Championship record. She also won the 1998 MVC Outdoor 1500 meter title.

Her name appears several times in the Indiana State track & field record book as she holds the Sycamore Indoor mile record (4:50.12 set in 1998), the outdoor 1500 meter record (4:27.92 in 1997), ranks fourth in the indoor 1,000 meters (2:57.17 in 1995), and fifth in the indoor 3,000 meters (9:54.27 in 1998). Menser is also a part of the 4×800 meter relay team (along with Tana Dahman, Karen Wamsley, and Kristin Heinichen) that set the school record at 8:48.97 in 1995 and a member of the distance medley relay team (along with Annie Cooper, Julie Harker, and Danelle Leaf) who ran the second fastest time in school history of 11:47.31 in 1998.

Menser was also a standout in cross country and was named to the Missouri Valley Conference All-Centennial Team. She was a two-time All-MVC selection in cross country (1995 and 1996) and named to the All-Region team in 1997 with a 10th place finish at the regional championship. Menser was also a WICCCA Academic All-American in 1996. She currently has the fourth fastest 5K time in school history of 17:36 set in 1996.

Menser-Lansing currently serves as the Senior Women’s Administrator at Indiana State.

Parker is a two-time All-American who competed in the high jump for the Indiana State’s men’s track & field team from 1991 to 1994. The Sycamore placed fourth at the 1991 and 1994 NCAA Indoor National Championship and tied for 11th at the 1994 NCAA Outdoor National Championship.

A member of the Missouri Valley Conference All-Centennial Track & Field team, Parker won two MVC high jump titles as he captured the 1994 indoor championship with a jump of 7-feet-2.5-inches and the 1992 outdoor title by clearing 7-feet-3.75-inches. He was also named to four All-Missouri Valley Conference squads (two indoor and two outdoor).

Parker ranks second in Indiana State history in both the indoor and outdoor high jump with his best jump indoors at 7-feet-3.75-inches (2.23 meters) and his best jump outdoors at 7-feet-5.25-inches (2.27 meters).

Source: Indiana State University

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}