United Way of Central Indiana has announced 10 Indianapolis Public Schools teachers have been named finalists for the Hubbard Life-Changing Teacher Award. Next week, four teachers will receive $25,000 for making a difference in the classroom.

May 18, 2015

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Ten Indianapolis Public Schools (IPS) teachers have been chosen as finalists from a field of 161 nominated for the Hubbard Life-Changing Teacher Award, announced United Way of Central Indiana (UWCI) today. For the second year, the award recognizes IPS teachers who make a tremendous difference in the classroom and in the lives of students.

On May 27, four teachers will be announced from among those finalists to receive $25,000 each at a dinner in their honor at the Eiteljorg Museum. The remaining six finalists will receive $1,000 each.

Finalists are:

– Dave Davies, agriculture and science teacher at Emma Donnan Middle School;

– Laura DeHart, coach at Lew Wallace Elementary School 107;

– Ann Mennonno, first and second grade teacher at Center of Inquiry School 27;

– Donna Pope-Green, physical education teacher and track coach at Northwest Community High School;

– Apple Quick ; Project SITE creator and teacher;

– Melissa Scherle, second grade teacher at Washington Irving School 14;

– Marleen Signer, teacher of students with significant disabilities at McFarland High School;

– Roslyn Stradford, teacher of Advanced Placement English at Shortridge High School;

– Angela Tipton, English teacher at Key Learning Community; and,

– Doris Young, English and Humanities teacher at Broad Ripple Magnet for the Arts and Humanities High School.

“We are thrilled to honor 10 phenomenal educators,? said Al Hubbard, who is chairman of E & A Companies, an Indianapolis-based business, and the director of the National Economic Council under President George W. Bush. “These teachers have a tremendous impact on the lives of their students and represent the best of what we hope for in the classroom today.”

United Way of Central Indiana managed the selection process. The 10 finalists announced today were chosen by five volunteer review panelists with education expertise. They considered how nominees invested in their students' entire well being along with their instructional excellence as evidenced by student achievement results.

In addition to reviewing nominations, the selection process included videos of each finalist in their classroom and personal interviews with semi-finalists to select the four awardees.

“Thanks to the Hubbards, we are able to give these peak performing educators the respect and recognition they so richly deserve,” said Ann D. Murtlow, president and chief executive officer, United Way of Central Indiana.”The lengths they go to so that their students will have the tools to succeed in school and in life is remarkable both in its immediate impact and its lifelong—and even generational—power. They are true community champions.”

Angela Cain, an award-winning broadcast journalist who transitioned from a 30-year career in television to direct public affairs for the Indianapolis Airport Authority earlier this year, will emcee the event.

Winners of the award in 2014 were: Tina Ahlgren, Cynthia Hartshorn, Rhonda Pierre and, Deb Wolinsky.

United Way of Central Indiana helps people learn more, earn more and lead safe and healthy lives. United Way gets things done by mobilizing people and community partners in six Central Indiana counties to identify, advance and advocate the best solutions. LIVE UNITED is a call to action for everyone to be part of the change. Visit uwci.org to learn more.

Source: United Way of Central Indiana

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}