Twelve Hoosier schools have been named to this year's National Blue Ribbon Schools list. The U.S. Department of Education honors “exemplary” high-performing or improving schools throughout the country each year. Editor's Note: An earlier version inadvertently left three schools off the list. Those schools have been added below and the correct total now appears above.

Last year, eight Indiana schools in were selected.

The 2013 list of public and private National Blue Ribbon Schools includes the following from Indiana:

Creekside Middle School

3525 W. 126th Street

Carmel, IN 46032

Principal: Mr. Thomas Harmas

School District: Carmel Clay Schools

Discovery Middle School

10050 Brummitt Road

Granger, IN 46530

Principal: Mrs. Sheryll Harper

School District:Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation

Fairmont Elementary School

1725 Abbie Dell Avenue

New Albany, IN 47150

Principal: Mrs. Susan Gahan

School District: New Albany Floyd County Consolidated School Corporation

Holy Family School

990 E. Church Avenue

Jasper, IN 47546

Principal: Mrs. Sally Sternberg

School District: Diocese of Evansville

Jonas E. Salk Elementary School

3001 W 77th Avenue

Merrillville, IN 46410

Principal: Mrs. Kara Bonin

School District: Merrillville School Corporation

Laura G. Childs Elementary School

2211 S High Street

Bloomington, IN 47401

Principal: Mr. Chris Finley

School District: Monroe County Community School Corporation

Morgan Township Elementary School

299 South State Road 49

Valparaiso, IN 46383

Principal: Mrs. Michelle Friesen-Carper

School District: East Porter County School Corporation

New Haven Intermediate School

1065 Woodmere Drive

New Haven, IN 46774

Principal: Mrs. Alicia Gatewood

School District: East Allen County Schools

Pine Ridge Elementary School

4613 S. Pine Ridge Road

Birdseye, IN 47513

Principal: Mr. Ryan Haas

School District: Southeast Dubois Consolidated School Corporation

Saint Louis de Montfort Catholic School

11421 Hague Road

Fishers, IN 46038

Principal: Mrs. Annette Marie Jones

School District: Diocese of Lafayette

Saint Maria Goretti School

17104 Spring Mill Road

Westfield, IN 46074

Principal: Mr. Vince Barnes

School District: Diocese of Lafayette-in-Indiana

Trinity School at Greenlawn

107 South Greenlawn Avenue

South Bend, IN 46617

Principal: Mr. John Lee

You can view the full national list by clicking here.

September 24, 2013

News Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced 286 schools as the 2013 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools, based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in improving student academic achievement. Secretary Duncan made this year's announcement live via the Department's USTREAM channel, viewed by recognized principals, teachers, and students assembled across the country.

The Department will honor 236 public and 50 private schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 18-19 in Washington, D.C. In its 31-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on nearly 7,500 of America's schools.

“Excellence in education matters and we should honor the schools that are leading the way to prepare students for success in college and careers,” said Secretary Duncan. “National Blue Ribbon schools represent examples of educational excellence, and their work reflects the belief that every child in America deserves a world-class education.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students' levels of achievement.

The program recognizes schools in one of two performance categories. The first category is “Exemplary High Performing,” in which schools are recognized among their state's highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests. The second category is “Exemplary Improving,” in which schools that have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests.

To select National Blue Ribbon Schools, the Department requested nominations from the top education official in every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates private schools. A total of 420 schools nationwide may be nominated, with allocations determined by the numbers of K-12 students and schools in each jurisdiction. The Secretary of Education invites nominated schools to submit an application for possible recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School.

Source: U.S. Department of Education

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}