The Judicial Nominating Commission has selected Loretta Rush as Indiana's next Chief Justice. When Rush takes office next month, she will become the first female to ever hold the leadership role in Indiana. August 6, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — On Wednesday, August 6, the Judicial Nominating Commission voted to select Loretta Rush as Indiana's next Chief Justice. Loretta Rush is expected to take office later this month when Chief Justice Brent Dickson steps down as Chief Justice. Dickson will remain on the Supreme Court as an Associate Justice.

The Commission made its selection for Chief Justice from among the other current Justices: Robert Rucker, Steven David, Mark Massa and Loretta Rush. The Commission recruits candidates for appellate level judicial positions and also appoints Indiana's Chief Justice. Detailed information on the 7-member Commission and the selection process for Indiana's Chief Justice can be found online at

Today, the Commission interviewed each Justice in a meeting open to the public and press. Photographs of each Justice speaking with the Commission can be found at At approximately 2:30 p.m. the Commission went into an executive session for discussion. Following the executive session, at approximately 3:50 p.m. the Commission convened in a public session to vote on its selection of Indiana's next Chief Justice.

Source: Indiana Supreme Court

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}