The Indiana Senate Republican Caucus and Indiana House Republican Caucus have announced leadership teams for the 2015 General Assembly. Lawmakers will convene for Organization Day November 18. November 5, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Indiana Senate Majority Caucus met today in Indianapolis to elect its leadership team. Eight senators-elect joined with incumbent caucus members to re-elect State Sen. David Long (R-Fort Wayne) as their choice for Senate President Pro Tempore and State Sen. Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis) as Majority Caucus Chairman.

Long has served as President Pro Tempore since 2006, and Merritt has held his leadership post since 2004.

In accordance with Senate rules, the 10 Democrats who make up the minority caucus will also weigh in on Long's selection during the legislature's official Organization Day on Nov. 18. Traditionally, the minority caucus supports the choice of the majority members.

“Senate Republicans are ready to get to work,” Long said. “We expect the upcoming session to be productive in a variety of areas. Most notably legislators will be crafting another balanced budget that funds important state services, provides for the best possible education for Hoosier children, supports our hardworking teachers and protects taxpayers.”

Attending Wednesday's meeting were eight newly elected Republicans to the Indiana Senate:

-Senate District 6: Rick Niemeyer, Lowell

-Senate District 15: Liz Brown, Fort Wayne

-Senate District 27: Jeff Raatz, Richmond

-Senate District 38: Jon Ford, Terre Haute

-Senate District 39: Eric Bassler, Washington

-Senate District 43: Chip Perfect, Lawrenceburg

-Senate District 47: Erin Houchin, Salem

-Senate District 48: Mark Messmer, Jasper

November 5, 2014

News Release

STATEHOUSE, Ind. — Members of the Indiana House Republican Caucus convened today to organize and elect their leadership for the upcoming legislative session.

The caucus re-elected State Representative Brian C. Bosma (R-Indianapolis) to his fourth term as Speaker of the House. In addition, State Representative Kathy Kreag Richardson (R-Noblesville) was selected to serve again as Caucus Chairwoman. This will be Rep. Richardson’s fourth term as Majority Caucus Chair.

State Representative Jud McMillin (R-Brookville) was newly elected to serve as Floor Leader. Former Majority Floor Leader, State Representative Bill Friend (R-Macy) will be appointed by Speaker Bosma to serve as the Speaker Pro Tempore. Further appointments to the House Republican leadership team will be made in the coming weeks.

Hoosiers re-elected 63 members of the House Republican Caucus along with 8 newly elected House members:

-Michael Aylesworth (R-Hebron), Retired Co-founder of Iroquois Bio Energy Company, representing House District 11;

-Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville), Owner/Operator Borders Insurance and Financial Services and Elvis Impersonator, representing House District 45;

-Mike Braun (R-Jasper), Owner of Meyer Distributing, representing House District 63;

-Bill Fine (R-Munster), Attorney, representing House District 12;

-Chris Judy (R-Fort Wayne), Production Worker at General Motors, representing House District 83;

-Doug Miller (R-Elkhart), Owner of D.L. Miller Construction, Creekside Realty LLC, and White Pines Properties, representing House District 48;

-Curt Nisly (R-Goshen) Founder of C-Tech Solutions, representing House District 22 and;

-Julie Olthoff (R-Crown Point), President of VIA Marketing, representing House District 19.'

“I couldn’t be more proud of our team. In the past ten years, House Republicans have championed education reforms, made Indiana the 23rd Right-to-Work state, created the Indiana Economic Development Corporation, repealed the inventory tax, cut corporate and personal taxes, enacted property tax caps and made Indiana the fiscal envy of the nation. Hoosiers have elected leaders who will continue to balance the budget, focus on education, address ethics and work for a safer Indiana.

“We are humbled that we have been given this continued opportunity to lead our great state,” said Speaker Bosma.

Source: The Indiana Senate Republicans, Indiana House Republicans

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}