The Indiana Emergency Response Conference has presented its annual awards, honoring the best and brightest among Indiana first responders and public safety officials. Award recipients may be nominated by other emergency responders, as well as individuals they may have assisted.

The IERC serves as the annual gathering for firefighters, emergency medical services, law enforcement, emergency management agencies, hazardous materials professionals, special operations personnel and telecommunicators. It includes educational sessions, innovative presentations and discussions about some of the most pressing issues facing the emergency response community in Indiana.

The IERC was planned by the Indiana Fire Chiefs Association, the Indiana Department of Homeland Security and Public Safety Medical. 

Here are the award recipients: 

Fire Instructor of the Year (Individual) 
Ross Elmore, Petersburg Fire Department

Dispatcher of the Year 
Shift Days A, Hamilton County Public Safety Communications

Heroic Rescue of the Year
Mark Regina, Mishawaka Fire Department 

EMS Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year (Fire Department-based) 
Fishers Fire Department

EMS Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year (Non-Fire Department-based) 
AMR Evansville

Fire and Life Safety Educator of the Year 
Craig Zollars, White River Township Fire Department (Greenwood) 

David J. Edwards Memorial Award, Primary (EMS) Instructor of the Year 
Kelly Russ, Indianapolis EMS

EMS for Children Award 
Chris Thomas, Trans-Care Ambulance Service (Terre Haute) 

EMT-Basic of the Year 
Samantha Slinger, Harrison County Hospital EMS

Paramedic of the Year 
Darren Forman, Crawfordsville Fire Department 

EMS Basic Life Support Provider of the Year (Fire Department-based) 
Evansville Fire Department

EMS Basic Life Support Provider of the Year (Non-Fire Department-based) 
Knox County EMS 

Ambulance Provider Public Relations Award
inHealth (Valparaiso)

EMS Officer of the Year 
Gary Kleeman, Harrison County Hospital EMS 

Medical Director of the Year 
Scott Sinnott, Project Swaddle Medical Director, Franciscan Alliance (Lafayette)

Firefighter of the Year 
Thomas Marvel, Carmel Fire Department

Fire Officer of the Year 
Tim Tully, Crown Point Fire Rescue

Fire Chief of the Year (Volunteer) 
Randy Sizelove, Summitville Fire Department

Fire Chief of the Year (Career) 
Mike Connelly (pictured), Evansville Fire Department

You can learn more about each award recipient by clicking here.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}