Ron Christian has been named chair of the Indiana Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. He is executive vice president external affairs and chief legal officer and corporate secretary at Vectren. Christian has served on the Indiana Chamber’s board and various policy committees since 2006. Additionally, he has been a part of the Indiana Business for Responsive Government policy group since 2014. Christian was also a member of the 24-person Indiana Vision 2025 task force, which developed the long-range economic plan for the state. In 2013, he was named an Indiana Chamber Volunteer of the Year. A southern Indiana native, Christian started his career as a utility lawyer for Barnes & Thornburg in Indianapolis, after graduating from the University of Evansville, and then with a law degree from the University of Louisville. Christian returned to southern Indiana in 1999 during the merger of Indiana Gas Co. and Southern Indiana Gas & Electric Co., which created Vectren in 2000. More than 100 members make up the Indiana Chamber board. They are presidents, CEOs and high-level executives from organizations throughout the state.

In addition, 29 business leaders throughout the state have been named to the Indiana Chamber Board of Directors, effective immediately:

-Scott Bruns, office managing partner, Ernst & Young LLP (Indianapolis);
-Phil Burkholder, president, Defense Aerospace North America, Rolls-Royce (Indianapolis);
-Chris Campbell, president, Centier/First Bankshares (Merrillville);
-Julie Carmichael, president, Carmichael & Company (Indianapolis);
-Debbie Dewey, president, Indiana American Water (Greenwood);
-Aaron Dixon, partner, Ice Miller, LLP (Indianapolis);
-Craig Dwight, chairman & CEO, Horizon Bank, N.A. (Michigan City);
-Jennifer Dzwonar, managing principal, Borshoff (Indianapolis);
-Sue Ellspermann, president, Ivy Tech Community College (Indianapolis);
-Eric Halvorson, manager of public affairs, Kroger Co. (Indianapolis);
-Scott Harrison, president & CEO, Rea Magnet Wire Co. (Fort Wayne);
-Ken Hedlund, principal, Somerset CPAs, P.C. (Indianapolis);
-Joe Kessler, executive vice president, chief finance and administration officer, Community Health Network (Indianapolis);
-Dave Leech, vice president and general manager, FedEx Express (Indianapolis);
-Lisa Long, president, Chamber of Commerce of Harrison County (Corydon);
-John McDonald, CEO, CloudOne (Fishers);
-Diane Medley, managing partner, MCM CPAs & Advisors (Louisville, KY);
-Terry Murphy, president & CEO, Hammond Group, Inc. (Hammond)
-Bob Nelson, president, Honda Manufacturing of Indiana (Greensburg);
-Doug Prince, CEO, ProCourse Fiduciary Advisors (Carmel);
-Melissa St. John, president/owner, Relocation Strategies (Indianapolis);
-Casey Stanley, vice president, product management and marketing, Ontario Systems (Muncie);
-Bill Stephen, vice president of engagement, Indiana University (Indianapolis);
-Mike Stewart, executive vice president and chief banking officer, First Merchants Bank (Indianapolis);
-Stephen Stitle, managing partner-Indiana, Smith Amundsen (Indianapolis);
-Ron Turpin, principal/market president, Gibson (Fort Wayne);
-Robert Wallstrom, president & CEO, Vera Bradley (Roanoke);
-John Wechsler, founder and CEO, Launch Fishers (Fishers);
-Matt Wyatt, president and CEO, Recovery Force (Fishers).

The Indiana Chamber board plays a crucial role in developing the aspects of the organization’s business advocacy efforts. Members serve on various committees that research key topics and define public policy positions for adoption by the entire board each fall. These positions are used by the Indiana Chamber’s advocacy team to initiate and evaluate legislation at the Indiana Statehouse and at the federal level.

Long’s term on the board is for one year; all other new board members will serve three-year terms through fall 2019.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}