The Glick Fund will continue to support the Indiana Authors Award for at least the next five years. The honor is presented each year to recognize Indiana authors who have contribution to the state and national literary communities. Organizers have also announced 2013 recipients. November 12, 2013

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Indiana Authors Award, together with Marianne Glick announced that The Glick Fund has renewed funding support for the Indiana Authors Award for the next five years. Glick is a Glick Fund advisor and board chair for the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation.

“The Indiana Authors Award has become an important cultural institution in our state,” said Danny R. Dean, president of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. “We are so pleased The Glick Fund will continue its generous support of this event.”

The Indiana Authors Award is presented annually to recognize the contributions of Indiana authors to Indiana's and the nation's literary landscapes. The Award is a program of The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, funded by the generosity of The Glick Fund.

The Indiana Authors Award also recognized three prominent authors at a special awards celebration. Michael Martone and James H. Madison were presented Indiana Authors Awards as the National Author and Regional Author recipients, respectively. Mike Mullin received the Emerging Author Award.

National Author award recipient Martone said, “There was never a time in my 40 years of writing that I have not written about Indiana. My readers outside the state are always amazed to discover this baffling and beautiful land in my stories. I am profoundly grateful.”

Each winner receives a cash prize and also chooses an Indiana public library to receive a $2,500 grant from the Library Foundation. Since the Award's inception in 2009, it has awarded winning authors a total of $112,500, and the authors' hometown Indiana libraries have received $40,000 in grants.

Indiana Authors Award nominations were submitted in early spring 2013. Any published writer born in Indiana or who has lived in Indiana for at least five years was eligible. An eight-member, statewide Award Panel selected national, regional and emerging author winners.

Michael Martone: National Author Award Winner- $10,000 prize. A writer with Indiana ties, whose entire body of work is known and read throughout the country.

James H. Madison: Regional Author Award Winner- $7,500 prize. A writer who is well-known and respected throughout the state of Indiana and who is evaluated on their entire body of work.

Mike Mullin: Emerging Author Award Winner – $5,000 prize. A writer who has published no more than two books during his/her lifetime. Title(s) must have been published within the last 10 years.

Information about nominating an author for the 2014 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award will be made available early next year. To learn more, contact the Library Foundation at (317) 275-4700 or visit

About The Glick Fund:

The Glick Fund was established by Gene and Marilyn Glick to support a variety of causes in central Indiana. In addition to establishing the Indiana Authors Award with The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, Glick charitable funds have benefited Indiana educational institutions, arts organizations, hospitals and a leadership program for underprivileged youth.

About the Library Foundation:

The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation supports and enhances programs, services and facilities of The Indianapolis Public Library, and its partnerships in lifelong learning initiatives that benefit a diverse community.

Source: The Indianapolis Public Library Foundation

Story Continues Below