Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. will recognize the contributions next week of four current and former Indiana business executives. This year's Indiana Academy class will include the president of Evansville-based Old National Bancorp (Nasdaq: ONB) and retired leaders from Vectren Corp. (NYSE: VVC) and AT&T Inc. (NYSE: T). October 15, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Four new members will be inducted into The Indiana Academy at its 44th annual symposium on Monday, October 20, in Indianapolis, by the Independent Colleges of Indiana for lifetimes of achievement and contribution to the state of Indiana:

-Deborah J. Daniels (Indianapolis) is a partner in Indianapolis-based law firm Krieg DeVault LLP, with lengthy experience in criminal and civil investigations and corporate compliance. Her prior service includes terms as a U.S. attorney of the Southern District of Indiana and an assistant attorney general with the U.S. Department of Justice. She is a trustee of the University of Indianapolis and a former member of the board of visitors of DePauw University, her alma mater.

-Andrew E. “Andy” Goebel (Evansville) is the retired president and COO of Vectren Corporation; he was instrumental in the merger creating Vectren, which serves over 1.3 million customers in Indiana and Ohio. He has served on the board of trustees of University of Evansville for 15 years and is a member of the Evansville-Vanderburgh County School Corporation Business Advisory Council and the Board of Directors of Old National Bancorp.

-Robert G. “Bob” Jones (Evansville) is the president and CEO of Old National Bancorp in Evansville and a member of its board of directors. Before joining Old National in 2004, he served for 25 years at KeyCorp. He is on the boards of University of Evansville, Ivy Tech, Riley Children's Hospital, Evansville Business Leaders Roundtable for Education, WNIN, American Bankers Council, Evansville Sports Corp., and Evansville Regional Business Council (chair).

-John D. Zeglis (Culver) is the retired president of AT&T and former chairman & CEO of AT&T Wireless after its IPO and spin-off from AT&T. He is currently a member of the board of trustees of Valparaiso University, Manchester University, and University of Illinois’ College of Business Center for Professional Responsibility.

A complete listing of Academy members may be found at

Modeled after The French Academy, The Indiana Academy was established in 1970 by the Independent Colleges of Indiana to recognize individual leadership, achievement, and philanthropy designed to promote the advancement of the state, as well as its independent sector of higher education. It is supported by a generous and enduring gift from the Tony and Mary Fendrich Hulman Endowment Fund and Academy members.

Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) is a nonprofit association that represents the state's 31 private nonprofit colleges and universities. ICI member institutions enroll some 95,000 students (approximately 20 percent of all students statewide) and annually produce a third of all bachelor’s degrees in Indiana. For more information:

Source: Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}