Paula Katz has been named executive director of the Indianapolis Museum of Contemporary Art. She has been serving the role on an interim basis and was previously director and curator of the Herron Galleries at the Herron School of Art and Design in Indianapolis. June 2, 2015

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Indianapolis Museum of Contemporary Art board announces that it has appointed Paula Katz as its executive director.

Katz brings 10 years of curatorial experience and engagement with community programs to iMOCA. Prior to her appointment, she had been serving as interim executive director.

Katz previously served as director and curator of the Herron Galleries at the Herron School of Art and Design in Indianapolis, where she oversaw a diverse exhibition program in contemporary arts and related educational programming. Though she has expertise in contemporary art in all media, she has particular interests in photographic history and techniques, community engaged art, and collaborative practices. Before her time at Herron, she worked as the assistant curator of art at the Columbus Museum in Columbus, Georgia.

Since 2006 Katz has curated, administered and juried nearly 200 exhibitions throughout the Midwest and Southeastern United States. She holds a BA in Art History from Tulane University, an MPhil in Modern and Contemporary Art and Design from the University of Glasgow and an MBA with a certificate in social entrepreneurship from the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University.

Katz is part of the 2015-16 class of Creative Renewals Fellows, a program developed by the Indianapolis Arts Council with support from the Lilly Endowment. This two-year grant allows for artists and arts professionals an “opportunity similar to an academic sabbatical, to renew and refresh their creativity.” With this grant Katz will travel to Marfa, Texas as well as conduct research in Rome, Italy, Helsinki, Finland and Berlin, Germany

IMOCA is funded by its members and through grants from the Efroymson Family Foundation, Allen Whitehill Clowes Charitable Foundation, Lilly Endowment, Buckingham Foundation, Christel DeHaan Family Foundation, The Glick Fund, Halstead Architects, Herbert Simon Family Foundation, KEJ Foundation, The Indianapolis Foundation, Tracy L. Haddad Foundation, Netherleigh Fund, Murphy Arts LLC, Penrod Foundation, ESL-Spectrum and R&M Electric.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}