The Indiana High School Athletic Association has re-elected four high school administrators to its board and appointed two new members. The new terms begin in July.

December 12, 2014

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — Four high school administrators were re‐elected and two others were newly appointed to the IHSAA Board of Directors during the annual elections conducted within the member schools Dec. 1‐10. Each member school principal had the opportunity to vote electronically for the candidates running for seats in their respective district. The open seats are apportioned geographically and by school size.

Re‐elected to serve a new three‐year term beginning July 1, 2015 were:

Don Gandy, Principal, Wheeler – District I, Class 2A.

Steve Cox, Principal, Beech Grove – District II, Class 3A.

Tim Grove, Superintendent, South Knox School Corporation – District III, Class 2A.

Mike Broughton, Athletic Director, Jennings County – District III, Class 4A.

One elected individual will begin immediately filling a vacancy of a departed member and then serve a three‐year term beginning July 1, 2015:  

Derick Bright, Principal, Wes‐Del – District II, Class A.

Elected to serve a three‐year term beginning July 1, 2015:

Ed Gilliland, Athletic Director, LaPorte – District I, Class 4A.

About the Board of Directors

The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three‐year terms. Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one qualified private school representative. The Board of Directors meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By‐Laws and regulations.

Track & Field State Finals to continue in Bloomington

The IHSAA Executive Committee approved a five‐year extension of an agreement calling for Indiana University as host site of the IHSAA Boys and Girls Track & Field State Finals. Both events have been contested at the Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex since 2003 and will continue there through the 2018‐19 school year. This year’s events, along with the second annual Unified Track & Field State Finals, are scheduled for June 5‐6, 2015.

About the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. (IHSAA) The IHSAA is a voluntary, not‐for‐profit organization that is self‐supporting without the use of tax monies. Since its founding in 1903, the Association’s mission has been to provide wholesome, educational athletics for the secondary schools of Indiana. Its member high schools ‐ public, institutional, parochial and private – pay no annual membership fee or incur entry fees to play in the Association’s tournaments. A state tournament series is conducted annually in 21 sports, 10 for girls, 10 for boys and one co‐ed (unified track and field). A 19‐person board of directors, elected by member school principals, governs the organization.

Story Continues Below