An annual list of the most influential players in Indiana politics and public policy has been released. The Howey Politics Indiana Power 50 again lists Governor Mike Pence and House Speaker Brian Bosma (R-88) at the top. January 15, 2015

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Governor Mike Pence and House Speaker Brian Bosma ranked number one and two in the highly anticipated 17th Annual Howey Politics Indiana Power 50 list, announced this morning at This annual list, sponsored by London-Witte Group, is designed to calibrate clout and forecast who in the state's political and public policy complex is most likely to impact events in the coming year.

“The decisions that Governor Pence makes over the next several months will have vast implications for the Indiana political establishment and, perhaps, the nation,” said Brian Howey, founder and publisher of Howey Politics Indiana. “His impact on the legislative agenda, the biennial budget, and the upcoming 2016 statewide and national elections will help define his legacy and how our state moves forward. It is for these reasons that he has earned the top spot in the Power 50.”

Bosma earned second place due to his “vast influence” over the Indiana House and the General Assembly. “He has presided over a 71-member caucus with authority. He has been a transparent reformer. He has been inclusive,” according to Howey. “In the post-Pence era, Bosma is likely to emerge as the alpha figure, simply because his House network affords him a huge bank of IOUs.”

This year's Power 50 list allowed readers to participate in the rankings for the first time. “More than 400 of our subscribers participated in an online survey and offered their thoughts on who should rank highly in the list. We appreciate that participation and took those comments into account as we finalized the rankings,” Howey added.

The entire Power 50 list can be found in today's issue of Howey Politics Indiana at The Top 20 honorees are:

1. Gov. Mike Pence

2. House Speaker Brian Bosma

3. U.S. Senator Dan Coats

4. Joe Hogsett, Candidate for Indianapolis Mayor

5. Senate President David Long

6. U.S. Rep. Luke Messer

7. State Senator Luke Kenley

8. Ways & Means Chairman Tim Brown

9. U.S. Senator Joe Donnelly

10. Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann

11. John Gregg and Baron Hill

12. Evansville Mayor Lloyd Winnecke

13. State Rep. Gail Riecken

14. U.S. Rep Todd Young

15. U.S. Rep Susan Brooks

16. Supt. Glenda Ritz

17. Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry

18. U.S. Rep. Todd Rokita

19. Hammond Mayor Thomas McDermott Jr.

20. Purdue President Mitch Daniels

“With the Republican takeover of Capitol Hill, the virtual domination by the GOP here in

Indiana, the upcoming municipal elections in 2015 and the national horserace in 2016,

the next two years will be critical for our local, state and national governments,” Howey

said. “The individuals listed in the Power 50 will play a major role in shaping the


Howey Politics Indiana is the Hoosier state's premier political Internet-based publication,

providing daily and weekly briefings on the news and opinions everyone involved in

politics should know. Brian Howey founded Howey Politics in 1994 and is responsible for

all editorial content. Howey Politics is delivered to more than 3,500 people each

weekday, including U.S. Senators and Congressmen, Indiana State Legislators, Mayors,

Town Managers, Municipal Officials, Political Party Leaders and Political Consultants.

Brian Howey is also a syndicated newspaper columnist, reaching more than 300,000

readers a week in more than two-dozen local markets around the state.

Source: Howey Politics Indiana

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}