Governor Mike Pence leads an annual list of the top movers and shakers in state politics. This year's Howey Politics Indiana Power 50 also includes the commissioner of the Family and Social Services Administration, several mayors and a former governor. Here is this year's Howey Politics Indiana Power 50. You can view summaries of each person at

1. Governor Mike Pence

2. House Speaker Brian Bosma

3. Senate President David Long

4. FSSA Commissioner Deb Minott

5. State Representative Tom Dermody

6. Curt Smith, Micah Clark, Eric Miller

7. Megan Robertson

8. State Representative Robert Behning

9. U.S. Representative Jackie Walorski and Joseph Bock

10. U.S. Senator Joe Donnelly

11. U.S. Senator Dan Coats

12. U.S. Representative Todd Young

13. U.S. Representative Susan Brooks

14. Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard

15. Evan Bayh

16. Joe Hogsett

17. Hammond Mayor Thomas McDermott Jr.

18. Baron Hill

19. Senator Appropriations Chair Luke Kenley, Ways & Means Chair Tim Brown

20. Chief-of-Staff Bill Smith

21. Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz

22. Lieutenant Governor Sue Ellspermann

23. Claire Fiddan-Green

24. Attorney General Greg Zoeller

25. U.S. Representative Marlin Stutzman

26. House Minority Leader Scott Pelath

27. Jim Bopp Jr.

28. Secretary of State Connie Lawson

29. Marion Mayor Wayne Seybold

30. State Representative Ed Clere

31. State Representative Ed DeLaney

32. Evansville Mayor Lloyd Winnecke

33. Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry

34. State Representatives Greg Steuerwald & Jud McMillin, Senators Brent Steel and David Powell

35. Kokomo Mayor Greg Goodnight

36. South Bend Mayor Pete Butigieg

37. Richard Lugar

38. U.S. Representative Luke Messer

39. U.S. Representative Todd Rokita

40. Republican Chairman Tim Berry

41. Democrat Chairman John Zody

42. State Senator Brandt Hershman and State Representative Eric Turner

43. Goshen Mayor Allan Kauffman and Terre Haute Mayor Duke Bennett

44. State Senator Jim Merritt

45. Purdue President Mitch Daniels

46. U.S. Representative Larry Buschon

47. Rod Ratcliff

48. Doug Brown

49. State Representative Mike Karickhoff

50. Jennifer Hallowell

January 10, 2014

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS – For the 15th consecutive year, the non‐partisan Howey Politics Indiana newsletter has published its Power 50 list, which prognosticates which Hoosier policy and political figures will have the most impact in the coming year.

The 2014 Power 50 is led by Gov. Mike Pence and legislative leaders Brian Bosma and David Long, but much of the top 10 are figures who will lead the fight over the constitutional marriage amendment.

Also on the list is Family Social Services Administration Commissioner Deb Minott, who will play a key role in the multi-billion dollar dynamic surrounding the Healthy Indiana Plan and whether Indiana expands Medicaid.

The list also includes a number of mayors, including Greg Ballard of Indianapolis,Lloyd Winnecke of Evansville, Duke Bennett of Terre Haute, Peter Buttigieg of South Bend, Thomas McDermott Jr. of Hammond, Tom Henry of Fort Wayne and Allan Kauffman of Goshen.

It also looks into the emerging 2016 gubernatorial race and whether Evan Bayh returns to the state to run, or if not, who is likely to emerge.

HPI Publisher Brian A. Howey writes: “Collectively, the Indiana congressional delegation sags on this list, by design. Several polls have congressional approval at historic, low single-­‐digits.

The delegation is young and emerging, with several House members earning A-­‐list committee assignments.

But many of these same members spent much of 2013 tilting at windmills and engaging fights that won battles in the House,while having no chance of passage in the Senate, let alone gaining a presidential signature. As gridlock consumes Washington, we see mayors accomplishing real goals in cities.”

To read the entire list, see the attachment or go to Howey Politics Indiana began publishing in August 1994. Howey also has a self-syndicated newspaper column appearing in more than 30 publications around Indiana.

Source: Howey Politics Indiana

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}