Indiana wineries won more than 200 medals in this year's Indy International Wine Competition. Tonne Winery in Muncie won Indiana Winery of the Year and its Traminette won Indiana Wine of the Year.

August 3, 2014

News Release

West Lafayette, Ind. — A California wine won the top award in the Indy International Wine Competition.

Klinker Brick Winery of Lodi, California, won Wine of Year for its 2012 Gold Ghost Zinfandel in the three-day judging that ended Friday (Aug. 1) at Purdue University. The competition attracted 2,200 entries from 11 countries and 40 states.

The competition, the nation's largest scientifically organized and independent wine competition, is organized by the Purdue Wine Grape Team.

“The more than two thousand wines entered in the 23rd Indy are a true reflection of the amazingly diverse offerings that the global wine market provides to American wine lovers, who now consume more wine than any other nation in the world,” said Purdue wine professor Christian Butzke, the competition's chairman and chief judge. “Our 45 professional wine judges represent the general public's taste in wine, and their recommendations provide great guidance among the dizzying array of choices in the grocery store, online wine shop or restaurant.”

Other winners:

* Red Wine of the Year: Ghost Pines Winery of Healdsburg, California, for its 2012 Merlot.

* White Wine of the Year: Saint Croix Vineyards of Stillwater, Minnesota, 2013 Vignoles.

* Ros? Wine of the Year: Carlos Creek Winery of Alexandria, Minnesota, 2013 Frontenac Ros?.

* Sparkling Wine of the Year: Gloria Ferrer Caves and Vineyards of Sonoma, California, 2003 Carneros Cuvee.

* Dessert Wine of the Year: Debonn? Vineyards of Madison, Ohio, 2013 Vidal Blanc Ice Wine.

* Fruit Wine of the Year: Purple Toad Winery of Paducah, Kentucky, Lauren's Blackberry wine.

* Winery of the Year; Dr. Konstantin Frank of Hammondsport, New York. The award trophy honors the best international brand of the entire competition.

* Winemaker of the Year: Bill Gulvin of Nissley Vineyards, Bainbridge, Pennsylvania. The trophy honors the vintner who wins the most gold medals by brand at the competition.

Indiana wineries won 223 total medals. That includes 13 double gold, 38 gold, 119 silver and 53 bronze medals.

Tonne Winery of Muncie won the Indiana Winery of the Year – the Governor's Cup – recognizing the winningest Indiana winery. Turtle Run Winery of Corydon won Indiana's Farm Winery of the Year, honoring wineries that produce less than 50,000 gallons of wine. Indiana Wine of the Year was awarded to Tonne Winery for its Traminette. Easley Winery of Indianapolis won Indiana Traminette of the Year, honoring Indiana's signature wine and grape.

New awards this year included Wine Packaging Design of the Year and Wine Label Design of the Year. They were won by Illinois Sparkling Wine Co. of North Utica, Illinois, and Cades Cove Cellars of Townsend, Tennessee, respectively.

The results, with other information about the annual competition, are available on the event's website at

Source: Purdue University

Story Continues Below