Around four dozen Hoosier farm families will receive awards today at the Indiana State Fair. The honors include the 2013 John Arnold Award for Rural Preservation and the annual River Friendly Farmer Awards. August 14, 2013

News Release

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – On Farmer's Day (August 14) at the Indiana State Fair, the Miers family will receive the 2013 John Arnold Award for Rural Preservation from Indiana Landmarks and Indiana Farm Bureau. David and Mary Miers operate the Miers Farm Corporation in Decatur County.

“The Miers family uses their historic barns and farm buildings in modern agricultural operations while preserving the structures' original character,” says Tommy Kleckner, Indiana Landmarks' western office director and manager of the Arnold Award program.

David is the sixth generation Miers on the farm-2,000 acres of corn, beans, soybeans, and wheat. The Miers live in the c.1890 Queen Anne-style farmhouse built by David's great-great-grandfather, Thomas Sandford Miers.

The farm also includes a 1910 concrete block pump house and garage, a turn-of-the-century barn, and historic outbuildings.

While protecting the farm's legacy, the Miers also harness modern technology to maximize harvests, using GPS and crop yield mapping to identify weaknesses. The Miers farm has won its seed corn contractor's highest yield award 11 times since 1989 among growers of similar hybrids.

The Miers support wildlife habitats and land conservation by maintaining a plantation of 3,000 walnut trees and setting aside 120 acres for the federal Conservation Reserve Program.

David and Mary Miers will accept the Arnold Award at approximately 8:45 a.m.

during the Old-Fashioned Pancake Breakfast on Main Street in front of the Hoosier Lottery Grandstand. Indiana Landmarks' President Marsh Davis and Don Villwock, President of Indiana Farm Bureau, will be joined by Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann in presenting the award.

The annual award is named in memory of John Arnold (1955-1991), a Rush County farmer committed to preserving Indiana's rural heritage. Decatur County Alliance for Preservation nominated the Miers Farm for Arnold Award.

For information about nominations for the 2014 Arnold Award for Rural Preservation, contact Tommy Kleckner at Indiana Landmarks, 812-232-4534,

Source: Indiana Landmarks

News Release

Originally Posted July 30, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – For Indiana farmers, recognition for the work they do every day is nice, but not necessary. They consider the thought and effort they put into protecting soil health and water quality part of their job description as a farmer.

Aug. 14, however, 46 recipients (see below) representing 37 counties from across the state will be honored as winners of the 2013 River Friendly Farmer Award. The ceremony will take place at 1 p.m. in the 4-H Exhibit Hall Auditorium at the Indiana State Fairgrounds during Farmers' Day at the Indiana State Fair.

Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann, Secretary of Agriculture and Rural Development, will present the award to winners, along with Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc. President Don Villwock. Also on hand for the ceremony will be Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts President Jeff Meinders and Indiana NRCS State Conservationist Jane Hardisty.

Who: 46 Indiana River Friendly Farmer Recipients

What: Will Receive the 2013 River Friendly Farmer Award

When: Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2013

1 p.m. EDT

Where: 4-H Exhibit Hall Auditorium (located by Gate 16 on the map), 2nd Floor, NW Corner

Indiana State Fairgrounds

1202 E. 38th St., Indianapolis

Why: State recognition for Indiana farmers who do an excellent job of managing their farms in an environmentally and economically sound way that protects and improves Indiana's soil and water resources for future generations.

2013 River Friendly Farmer Recipients:

Adams County, Rediger Farms Inc., Martin Rediger

Allen County, Byer Farm Service, Ned Byer

Clark County, Valley View Farms, Sam Hagest

Clark County, Dallas Lowery

Clinton County, Windy Lane Farms, Inc., Hal and Ty Brown

Crawford County, Bach Farm, Rollin Bach

Crawford County, Newton Farm, Marcus Newton

Decatur County, Smiley Brothers, Gordon and Jeff Smiley

DeKalb County, State Line Farms, Leon, Mel, and Ed Steury

Dubois County, Welp Homestead Farms, Inc., Mark and Brad Welp

Franklin County, David Hartman

Fulton County, Norman Farms, Michael Norman

Gibson County, Horrall Farms, Ed Horrall

Greene County, Crowe Farms, Inc., Steve Crowe

Hamilton County, Stewart Farms, Jeff Stewart

Howard County, Zell Farm, Dale Zell

Jay County, James Laux

Jay County, Andy Schemenaur

Jefferson County, Reed's Orchard, Wes Thomas

Knox County, Anson Family Farms, Mark, Michael, Douglas, and Daniel

Knox County, Worland Farms, LLC, Daniel Worland

Kosciusko County, Romine Farms, Brian Romine

Kosciusko/Fulton County, Paxton Farms, Brent Paxton

LaGrange County, Mishler Family Farm, Dewayne Mishler

Newton County, Prairie Park Farm, Warren Johnson, Jr.

Newton County, Strole Grain Farms Inc., Larry Strole (deceased)

Pike County, R J Adams Farms, Inc., Larry and Grant Adams

Pike County, Randy and Ron Leistner

Posey County, Reineke Farms, Steve and Tim Reineke

Pulaski County, Gary Culp

Putnam County, Cedar view Farm LLC, Ron Sutherlin

St. Joseph County, Whitmer Farms, Jim Whitmer

St. Joseph County, Doug Millar

Scott County, Bill and Mary Beth Comer

Spencer County, Freschly Farms, Dean Freschly

Starke County, Pflugshaupt Farms, Robin Phfugshaupt

Starke County, Greg Stone

Steuben County, Moody and Crew LLC, Tyson Franks

Tippecanoe County, Pig Alliance, Todd Welch

Vanderburgh County, Curran and Ann Miller Family LLC, Hugh Miller

Vermillion County, Cheesewright Farms, Kelly Cheesewright

Wabash County, Treska Farms, Gary Treska

Washington County, Cornucopia Farm, Kevin, Linda, Michael, and Jared Baird

Washington County, River Farm, David Souder

Whitley County, Jim Cormany Farms, Jim Cormany

Whitley County, Jagger Farms, Kevin Jagger

Source: The Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts

Story Continues Below