(photo courtesy of the Indiana Department of Education)

Two Indiana teachers have been nominated for the Patricia Behring Teacher of the Year award by Maryland-based nonprofit National History Day. The nonprofit says each of its 58 affiliates can nominate one high school and one middle school teacher for the award.

Matthew McMichael, a teacher at Center for Inquiry School 84 in Indianapolis, has been nominated in the junior division, and Austin Hall, a teacher at Triton Central High School in Fairland, has been nominated in the senior division of the National History Day National Contest.

“This award recognizes the very best educators from across the nation and beyond,” said National History Day Executive Director Dr. Cathy Gorn. “These educators are leaders and innovators in the teaching of history, and we are all the more impressed because of the extended difficult teaching circumstances due to the pandemic during the last year.”

The nonprofit says the $10,000 top prize is awarded to a teacher “who demonstrates a commitment to engaging students in historical learning through the innovative use of primary sources, implementation of active learning strategies to foster historical thinking skills, and participation in the National History Day Contest.” Every nominee receives a $500 prize as part of their nomination.

The national winner will be unveiled on June 18 at the organization’s virtual awards ceremony.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}