The Grant County Economic Growth Council welcomes new members to its board of directors. Karen Turner will serve as council president.

December 17, 2014

News Release

Marion, Ind. – The Grant County Economic Growth Council, a private, non-profit local economic development organization, welcomes new members who have been selected to serve on the organization’s Board of Directors. The Board guides Growth Council staff in policy decisions, strategy and evaluation, resources, and marketing. At the December Board of Directors meeting, a unanimous vote accepted the following new members: Dave Abernathy, President/CEO of VIA Credit Union; Eric Gonzales. Plant Manager at GM – Marion; Adrienne Rines, attorney at Kiley Harker & Certain; Scott Shelley, Plant Manager at Caf? Valley; and Anne Duncan of Owen Weilert Duncan Funeral Homes.

Joe Certain of Kiley, Harker & Certain is the outgoing President of the Grant County Economic Growth Council. “It has been an honor to serve as President of the Board of Directors; working with such a talented and efficient team has been rewarding. The Growth Council continues to set the bar for innovation and collaboration in Grant County. In her new role as President, Karen Turner will lead the group to a new level of brilliance.”

The 2015 slate of officers includes: Karen Turner, President; Jack Sciaudone, President Elect; Josh Matchette, Secretary/Treasurer; Scott Adams, VP Strategy; Tade Powell, VP Marketing; Bill Gartland, VP Resource; and Scott Murphy, Past President.

“A change in leadership on the Board of Directors serves the Growth Council in several ways. Firstly, fresh insights and new perspectives infuse innovation and creativity into Growth Council meetings and conversations. Secondly, the new leaders take ownership in the Grant County community both through their role and in their respective professional roles. Each Board member, regardless of title, contributes significantly throughout the year and gives the Growth Council tremendous support,” said Tim Eckerle, Executive Director of the Grant County Economic Growth Council. Eckerle has been in his role as Executive Director for thirty years, since the Growth Council’s inception in 1984.

Retiring Board members include Joe Certain, Caleb Crandall, Steve Notar Donato, Dr. Tom Lehman, and Eric Walts. “I have thoroughly enjoyed working with such a distinguished group of leaders who have the best interest of Grant County's growth and development as their main focus,” said Eric Walts in reflection of his term on the Growth Council Board. Walts encouraged the Board of Directors at December's meeting to challenge each other and continue to pursue the Grant County Economic Growth Council’s mission.

The Grant County Economic Growth Council works to facilitate investment and reinvestment for job retention and creation in the community. Through a diverse mix of respected and influential board members, the Growth Council is well-equipped to carry out its commitment to creating an optimal business environment in Grant County – a place where commerce and business talents can cultivate, prosper, and grow.

Source: Grant County Economic Growth Council

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}