Governor Eric Holcomb has made six new appointments to the Indiana Economic Development Corp. board of directors. The appointments are: John Lechleiter, Kristin  Marcuccilli (pictured), Fred Merritt (pictured), Mark Miles, Amy Schumacher and Linda White. This follows the passage of Senate Enrolled Act 507, which authorizes the governor to expand the IEDC board of directors from 12 to 15 members.

John Lechleiter has served as chairman of the board of directors of Eli Lilly and Co. since January 1, 2009 and retired as the company’s president and chief executive officer last year. He joined Lilly in 1979 as a senior organic chemist, and held a number of management positions before being named CEO April 1, 2008. Lechleiter earned his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Xavier University and master’s and doctoral degrees in organic chemistry from Harvard University. He is the chairman of the board of United Way Worldwide and serves as vice chair of the board of the Chemical Heritage Foundation. Lechleiter also serves on the boards of Nike Inc. and Ford Motor Co.

Kristin Marcuccilli serves as chief operating officer and senior vice president of STAR Financial Bank in Fort Wayne. She joined the bank in 2008 and has served in a variety of retail delivery, electronic banking, marketing and strategic planning roles. Marcuccilli is involved in numerous community organizations, serving as a board member for Arts United, Fort Wayne Children’s Zoo, Greater Fort Wayne Inc. and the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, where she also serves as vice chair of the Indiana Technology & Innovation Council. She is also a founding member of Touchdown for Kids, an organization benefiting Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital. Marcuccilli earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Notre Dame and an MBA from Indiana University. She has completed the American Bankers Association Stonier Graduate School of Banking, through which she is a Wharton Leadership Certificate recipient.

Fred Merritt has served as president of LFM Investments since he founded the company in 1999. He currently serves as chief executive officer of LFM’s holdings, which include Riverside Mfg., Faria Beede Instruments and Malibu Technologies. Merritt also maintains active leadership roles with TRG Arts, Leaders Staffing, Pitstop Airport Parking and G&S Metals. Prior, he spent 10 years in the banking industry, primarily working in commercial banking. Merritt received his bachelor’s degree in public finance from Indiana University. He has served on the boards of Bloom Bank, Linc Systems, Indiana Aerospace and Defense Council and Indiana Workforce Development, among others.

Mark Miles is president and chief executive officer of Hulman and Co. which is comprised of Clabber Girl, Georgetown Realty, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, INDYCAR, IMS Productions and other business entities. Prior to joining Hulman, he served as president and chief executive officer of the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership from January 2006 through December 2012. In 2008, he led a successful effort to earn Indianapolis the right to host Super Bowl XLVI and served as chairman of the board of the 2012 Super Bowl Host Committee. Miles earned his bachelor’s degree from Wabash College and is a member of the Wabash College Athletic Hall of Fame. He serves on a number local civic and non-profit boards and committees.

Amy Schumacher is president of The Heritage Group, overseeing the company’s more than 20 operating businesses and 3,000 employees. In 2008, she started Monument Chemical, the group’s specialty chemicals business, where she served as president for eight years, leading the strategy and financial management of the company’s operations in the U.S. and Europe. Schumacher earned her bachelor’s degree from Purdue University and an MBA from the Sloan School of Management at MIT. She serves as a member of the Calumet Specialty Products board of directors and is a member of the Young Presidents’ Organization.

Linda White is president and chief executive officer of Evansville-based Deaconess Health System, which operates six acute care hospitals as well as a multi-specialty clinic with more than 30 ambulatory sites. Her career with Deaconess began with her enrollment in the School of Nursing, and she has held numerous management- and executive-level positions over the past 40 years. After 15 years serving as president and CEO, White plans to retire later this year. Upon retirement, she will serve as chief executive officer emerita for one year and become executive director of the Deaconess Foundation. In addition to her work within Deaconess, White has devoted her time and talent to numerous civic and community endeavors and currently serves on the board of directors of the University of Evansville, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and Old National Bancorp. In January 2017, Deaconess honored White with the opening of the Linda White Hospice House on Deaconess Hospital’s main campus in Evansville. White earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Indiana State University, a nursing degree from the Deaconess School of Nursing and a baccalaureate in nursing and an MBA from the University of Evansville.

These new appointees have replaced Robert Koch II, James Marcuccilli and John Mutz. All three members have served on the IEDC board since its establishment in 2005 and were appointed by then-Governor Mitch Daniels. During their tenure, the IEDC has secured 2,570 commitments from companies to locate or grow in Indiana, totaling nearly $50 billion in capital investment and 262,056 committed new jobs.

Story Continues Below