Governor Eric Holcomb has appointed two new members to the Indiana State Board of Education and reappointed two others. All four board members begin their terms July 1.

The governor is responsible for appointing eight individuals to the SBOE, each of which must come from a different congressional district. Holcomb’s office says at least six of the board members must have professional experience in education and no more than five may be members of the same political party.

The appointments include:

• Kathleen Mote of Madison – interim chancellor of Ivy Tech Community College Southeast – filling a vacated term set to expire June 30, 2020.

• Tony Walker of Gary – chairman of The Walker Law Group PC – filling a vacated term set to expire June 30, 2020. .

• Vince Bertram of Zionsville – president and CEO of Project Lead the Way – reappointed to a new term which expires June 30, 2021.

• Gordon Hendry of Indianapolis – regional leader of CBRE’s Public Institutions and Education Solutions Group – reappointed to a new term, which expires June 30, 2021.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}