The Indiana Department of Revenue says individual income tax rates will increase in five Hoosier counties beginning next month. The rates are determined by county officials and submitted to the DOR for review.

The affected counties and their new tax rates include:

  • Boone County: 0.017 (increased from 0.015)
  • Johnson County: 0.014 (increased from 0.012)
  • Knox County: 0.017 (increased from 0.012)
  • LaPorte County: 0.0145 (increased from 0.0095)
  • Monroe County: 0.02035 (increased from 0.01345)

The DOR says the new tax rates affect businesses with employees who live and work in any of the affected counties and have income tax witholdings.

For those who were Indiana residents as of Jan. 1, 2022, the county tax rates for individuals are based on the employee’s Indiana county of residence on that date.

For those who were not Indiana residents on Jan. 1, 2022, the tax rates are based on that person’s county of principal business or employment on that date.

You can find the current rates for all Indiana counties from the DOR by clicking here.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}