The state of Indiana says local government units in 16 counties affected by severe weather this spring are now eligible for State Disaster Relief Fund money. The funding may be used to pay for projects including road repair, sewer restoration and debris removal.

July 1, 2013

News Release

Indianapolis, Ind. — Governor Mike Pence has opened the State Disaster Relief Fund to local government in 16 counties affected by severe weather and flooding that began April 17.

The counties are Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clinton, Fountain, Hendricks, Howard, Knox, Madison, Montgomery, Putnam, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vermillion, Wabash and Warren counties.

Qualifying expenses include the replacement, repair and restoration of roads, sewer systems and other public property. Certain expenses with debris removal also are qualified expenses.

The storms and flooding resulted in extensive damage and strained the resources of local units of government.

State Disaster Relief Fund

The Indiana State Disaster Relief Fund was established in 2003 to provide assistance to individuals and local governments who may not be eligible for federal disaster assistance, but met the state’s criteria for disaster relief.

Individual assistance from the State Disaster Relief Fund began immediately following the implementation of low interest federal disaster relief loans and is ongoing. Counties eligible include Blackford, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Delaware, Hamilton, Huntington, Madison, Miami, Wabash and Wells.

To date for the April flooding, there has been a total of $398,590 issued to Hoosiers for individual assistance. A total of $541,438 has been processed for payment.

Fees from retail fireworks sales provide the funding for the State Disaster Relief Fund, and Indiana is one of a few states to have a state fund.

Source: Office of Indiana Governor Mike Pence

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}